Discussion Forum

Skirk Shaman And Pacifism! Help!

hello. i'm a new MTG player and i have a few questions that i hope to be answered.

okay, so basically, my friend and i were playing MTG last night and i had a skirk shaman in play. he had a random white creature that he enchanted which gave it protection from red. he blocked my skirk shaman even though the shaman's ability was to only be blocked by a red creature or an artifact creature. (which was far from what his creature was)

is this possible?

also, can pacifism work on all creatures?

i'm just making sure that he isn't ******* me over.

PLEASE HELP ME!
Posted 15 February 2010 at 21:19

Permalink

I'd have to say yes. The creature he enchanted it with got protection from red. He blocked with it because it has those new abilities. If say you destroy that enchantment (do you know specifically what card it was?), that creature would lost those abilities and then can't block your shaman.

I believe you can use Pacifism on anything, expect in certain cases - like 'shroud' - it can't be the target of spells or abilities.
0
Posted 15 February 2010 at 21:44

Permalink

Actually, that is wrong. He cant block it. Just because it has Pro Red doesnt meen it all of a sudden becomes Red or an Artifact.... the arguement in itself doesnt make any sense. He never could block it because it never was Red or an Artifact. Plain and simple.
0
Posted 20 February 2010 at 21:42

Permalink

Riley's right. Intimidate is very specific in stating that it cannot be blocked except by artifacts or creatures that share a color with it. A white creature that is pro-red means it cannot be damaged, blocked BY, or affected by anything red. It does not BECOME a red creature so it still can not block an intimidater.
0
Posted 21 February 2010 at 03:51

Permalink

hmmm,


ok. i thought that getting protection from red, gave it that umbrella effect. but then again, in the game of magic, all rules are meant to be broken.


Cheers on clearing that up!
0
Posted 21 February 2010 at 04:55

Permalink

remember, Protection from something means that it can't be dealt damage from that something, it can't be enchanted by that something, it can't be targeted by that something, and it can't be blocked by that something.
0
Posted 22 February 2010 at 21:20

Permalink

thank you so much! this really helped!

by the way, just read your article about consistency. great job man! keep it up :)
0
Posted 03 March 2010 at 05:08

Permalink

[quote=gildo]thank you so much! this really helped!

by the way, just read your article about consistency. great job man! keep it up :)[/quote]

Glad to hear you liked it, keeping looking out for more of throw some ideas my way on one of my articles.
0
Posted 03 March 2010 at 23:50

Permalink

While the subject is partly about Protection, could someone clear one thing up about it? Can a creature, like Black Knight, who has protection from white. block a white creature? I know a white creature can't block Black Knight but i haven't seen if Black Knight can't block white creatures. Sorry about posting this in here but i didn't feel like making a whole new thread on something that was being discussed partly here.
0
Posted 22 March 2010 at 00:11

Permalink

[QUOTE=NinjaGamer]While the subject is partly about Protection, could someone clear one thing up about it? Can a creature, like Black Knight, who has protection from white. block a white creature? I know a white creature can't block Black Knight but i haven't seen if Black Knight can't block white creatures. Sorry about posting this in here but i didn't feel like making a whole new thread on something that was being discussed partly here.[/QUOTE]

The Black Knight will be able to block the white creature. Additionally, the white creature will do no damage to Black Knight.
0
Posted 25 March 2010 at 04:08

Permalink