Discussion Forum

Hypergenesis Question, please.

I play a cascade/hypergenesis deck. However, some of my friends has questions that I can't seem to find the answers to by googling Hypergenesis.

The question I have is whenever Hypergenesis comes into play and we start laying down creatures (example), can someone immediately lay down a gain control and take the creature, although hypergenesis rules states that the effects doesn't happen until hypergenesis resolves?

If they can take control of the creature immediately, do they get the ability on the creature that states "When this creature comes into play, etc." after hypergenesis resolves?

Thanks to all who replies, much appreciated.
Posted 24 March 2010 at 21:47

Permalink

simply put no and no, while any spell is resolving no other spells or abilities can resolve, they can be put on the stack, but as said earlier, it won't resolve until after hypergenesis. on the second part, they can't get the ability "When this creature comes into play, etc." because the creature has to be in play to be a legal target of gain control abilities, so the come into play, etc. would have already gone off.
0
Posted 24 March 2010 at 22:36

Permalink

Ahh ok, just as I thought, but of course when they're on the opposite side of the card, they want to argue. So, I wanted to be 100% sure.

Thank you very much for the reply.
0
Posted 24 March 2010 at 23:09

Permalink

I want to ask, can you even lay down a control magic (gain control) card during hypergenesis?

I thought that in order to use a control magic that a creature had to be in-play and selected, but a friend said that the rules on "enchantments" changed?

If so, you can just put a control magic on the board before selecting the creature to gain control of or if you can use it during hypergenesis, how can you determine which creature you will gain control of?
0
Posted 26 March 2010 at 08:52

Permalink

If the card says target it needs a legal target, if it's a general enchantment saying (for example) "Gain control of creatures target OPPONENT controls" it's fine since YOU are the target, or if it says "Gain control of <Type/color> creatures" that's fine since it's a general enchantment with no target needed.

He'd need to be laying this as part of hypergenesis resolving though.
0
Posted 26 March 2010 at 23:47

Permalink

Thank you for the reply. I understand now.
0
Posted 27 March 2010 at 08:08

Permalink