Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
Mass Deathtouch help
Ok, so my friend wanted me to make sure about this just in case for his zombie deck. Gangrenous Zombies. sacrifice it and do 1 damage to all creatures and all players. Would it having deathtouch kill everything once it is sacrificed? or does being sacrificed stop the deathtouch from happening?
On a related note, does giving Deathtouch to a creature that has ":symtap: Deal 1 damage to target creature" let it insta-kill creatures by using its tap ability? Help with this would be greatly appreciated.
NinjaGamer
53 posts
Posted 28 March 2010 at 01:07
Permalink
9 replies
Login to post a comment
Bonzai820
55 posts
It is my understanding that Deathtouch is an effect that is only associated with combat damage, therefore the use of an ability would not activate the Deathtouch effect. But that is just my understanding, I am not an official on the matter. Hope this is helpful.
0
Posted 28 March 2010 at 02:34
Permalink
Joeru
4 posts
It used to be combat damage only. They changed those rules in 2010 though, so yeah, all the creatures would die. As for the example of a "tap to do 1 dmg thing", that specifik example was used in the 2010 rules explanation video for deathtouch - meaning that it does work like that, and the target creature will die.
0
Posted 28 March 2010 at 09:03
Permalink
Danokozmo
17 posts
Deathtouch is all damage. Since i'm a sort of old-timer player, i still have some non-deathtouch cards that are lying around that still have nearly the same affect. Take voracious cobra for example. It only destroys creatures it deals combat damage to, and its damage cannot be divided between creatures.
0
Posted 28 March 2010 at 14:16
Permalink
Bonzai820
55 posts
Well, news to me. Sorry for the faulty information. And thanks for clearing that up.
0
Posted 28 March 2010 at 20:23
Permalink
Shadowex3
2 posts
Yep, it's now a board-wiper to everything without protection, regeneration, or indestructibility. This is why basilisk collar on a tap-pinger suddenly gets a lot more dangerous.
0
Posted 29 March 2010 at 01:53
Permalink
Bonzai820
55 posts
If Basilisk Collar was equiped to Palace Guard, would just 1 creature be killed assuming palace guard wasn't beefed up?
0
Posted 29 March 2010 at 04:08
Permalink
Shadowex3
2 posts
[quote]A creature that's been dealt damage by a source with deathtouch since the last time state-based actions were checked is destroyed as a state-based action. See rule 704. [/quote]
That's built into deathtouch.
0
Posted 29 March 2010 at 04:46
Permalink
pelican
4 posts
702.2. Deathtouch
702.2a Deathtouch is a static ability.
702.2b A player assigning combat damage from a creature with deathtouch can divide that damage as he or she chooses among any number of creatures blocking or blocked by it. This is an exception to the procedures described in rules 510.1c–d.
702.2c A creature that’s been dealt damage by a source with deathtouch since the last time state-based actions were checked is destroyed as a state-based action. See rule 704.
702.2d If a permanent leaves the battlefield before an effect causes it to deal damage, its last known information is used to determine whether it had deathtouch.
702.2e The deathtouch rules function no matter what zone an object with deathtouch deals damage from.
702.2f Multiple instances of deathtouch on the same object are redundant.
0
Posted 17 April 2010 at 21:02
Permalink
NoteworthyPlaysDecks
0 posts
Bonzai: since you can't divide 1 damage into fractions (outside of unhinged anyways) you can only deal damage to one guy as long as he's unpumped.
0
Posted 28 April 2010 at 07:04
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!