Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
When combat damage is dealt
My friend seems to think he can play instants after blockers are declared, but before combat damage is death. My argument is that combat damage is dealt immediately after blockers are declared (which is all at once).
Who is right?
munsonthedestroyer
95 posts
Posted 30 March 2010 at 21:03
Permalink
10 replies
Login to post a comment
Shadowex3
2 posts
I THINK he is, otherwise cards like Hold The Line would be impossible to use.
0
Posted 30 March 2010 at 22:54
Permalink
xZombiePaladinx
25 posts
I say instants can be played anytime. They're called "instants" for a reason!
0
Posted 30 March 2010 at 22:59
Permalink
munsonthedestroyer
95 posts
Upon further investigation, I found the current ruling came under a M10 rule change, see here:
As soon as damage is assigned in the combat damage step, it is dealt. There is no time to cast spells and activate abilities in between; the last time to do so prior to damage being dealt is during the declare blockers step.
(from http://www.wizards.com/magic/magazine/Article.aspx?x=mtg/daily/feature/42a )
This sounds like you can cast the instant WHILE blockers are being declared, but not AFTER.
0
Posted 30 March 2010 at 23:21
Permalink
Shadowex3
2 posts
Technically the order would be that you declare blockers and before passing priority back to the active player you cast an instant.
[quote]I say instants can be played anytime. They're called "instants" for a reason![/quote]
Instant refers to the speed, not when you can cast them. You can only cast when you have priority, you can't just drop an instant any time you feel like it when it isn't your turn.
0
Posted 31 March 2010 at 00:28
Permalink
rabbah
13 posts
fog is a card that can only be played after blokcers r declared
0
Posted 31 March 2010 at 02:18
Permalink
Setherial
349 posts
[QUOTE=Shadowex3]Technically the order would be that you declare blockers and before passing priority back to the active player you cast an instant.
Instant refers to the speed, not when you can cast them. You can only cast when you have priority, you can't just drop an instant any time you feel like it when it isn't your turn.[/QUOTE]
This is correct, also note that when you do declare your blockers and cast your instant(s) and pass priority that your opponent can then respond by casting his instants until he passes priority and then you can in turn respond to that and so forth. All before damage is declared.
check the rules on priority if you are not familiar with the term
0
Posted 01 April 2010 at 14:29
Permalink
JovensFerrets
1 post
1. beginning of combat step
-play instants or abilities
2. declare attackers step
-declare attackers
-play instants or abilities
3. declare blockers
-declare blockers
-play instants or abilities
4. combat damage step
-combat damage is delt
5. end combat step
-creatures who were dealt lethel damage go to the graveyard
-play instants or abilities
0
Posted 01 April 2010 at 14:40
Permalink
munsonthedestroyer
95 posts
[QUOTE=Jovensferrets]
3. declare blockers
-declare blockers
-play instants or abilities
4. combat damage step
-combat damage is delt
5. end combat step
-creatures who were dealt lethel damage go to the graveyard
-play instants or abilities[/QUOTE]
So, I guess my issue is, I'll have priority when I declare my blockers and decide to play (or not) Instants. When I make these two decisions, does priority shift to my opponent, or does it process to phase 4?
0
Posted 01 April 2010 at 14:44
Permalink
Setherial
349 posts
priority shifts when you pass it. You pass priority when you are done casting spells and you want the stack to resolve. Once you pass priority your opponent casts his spells and passes it again when he is done. When both of you are done casting spells the stack resolves and the process of passing priority ends. Do know that for each spell on the stack that resolves priority is again passed back and forth and players again have the opportunity to put new spells on the stack while it is resolving. The same thing happens when you want to move to the next step. You declare blockers and pass priority, your opponent says ok and passes priority back to you and you go to the next step.
0
Posted 01 April 2010 at 19:44
Permalink
munsonthedestroyer
95 posts
[QUOTE=Seth]priority shifts when you pass it. You pass priority when you are done casting spells and you want the stack to resolve. Once you pass priority your opponent casts his spells and passes it again when he is done. When both of you are done casting spells the stack resolves and the process of passing priority ends. Do know that for each spell on the stack that resolves priority is again passed back and forth and players again have the opportunity to put new spells on the stack while it is resolving. The same thing happens when you want to move to the next step. You declare blockers and pass priority, your opponent says ok and passes priority back to you and you go to the next step.[/QUOTE]
Okay, cool that helps a ton. Thanks!
0
Posted 01 April 2010 at 20:56
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!