Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
Greatbow Doyen, Jagged-scar Archers Combo
If I am playing Jagged-scar Archers with Greatbow Doyen and decide to use the Jagged-scar Archers' tap ability (or even attack) on a 3/3 creature while the Jagged-scar archers are 40/40, will that creature's controller also receive 40 damage due to the Greatbow Doyen's second ability, or just 3 damage, which was the amount it took to kill the creature??
kuansha
362 posts
Posted 06 April 2010 at 18:50
Permalink
4 replies
Login to post a comment
Danokozmo
17 posts
For this i would say we have to look at the ability Lifelink. Lifelink lets you to gain the damage dealt by the creature in life, and when a 5/5 lifelinker kills a 3/3, you still gain five life. So yes, i believe the creatures controller would take the amount of damage dealt to the creature.
0
Posted 07 April 2010 at 00:04
Permalink
kuansha
362 posts
[QUOTE=Danokozmo]For this i would say we have to look at the ability Lifelink. Lifelink lets you to gain the damage dealt by the creature in life, and when a 5/5 lifelinker kills a 3/3, you still gain five life. So yes, i believe the creatures controller would take the amount of damage dealt to the creature.[/QUOTE]
hm, that sounds reasonable...that is a very sick combo then =] lol
0
Posted 07 April 2010 at 00:11
Permalink
Shadowex3
2 posts
Greatbow Doyen has a ruling which states "The ability will trigger whether the damage is combat damage or not."
So really you guys are OVERthinking this. Jagged-scar archers is an archer type creature that says "T: Do X damage to Y creature with flying" and Greatbow Doyen says "When an archer-type creature you control does damage to a creature, do that much to it's controller as well."
So yeah your combo does what it says on it's face.
0
Posted 07 April 2010 at 01:16
Permalink
pelican
4 posts
to clarify further, ANY creature may be DEALT any amount of damage at any one time
a 1/1 can take 1, 2, 3, 10, 100000 damage as long as its dealt at once, and therefore as such any damage related effects will take that number, NOT simply the amount it takes to deal lethal damage to the creature
0
Posted 17 April 2010 at 20:35
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!