Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG General Discussion
Question about blocking
Hey everyone im trying to get back into magic and ive been playing with my girlfriend lately but im a little rust at the rules.
The question i have is this
lets say someone attacks with a 2/2 creature, and i block with two 1/2 creatures. What happens? How s the damage distributed? Would it do 1 damage to each of them while killing the attacking creature?
DeadLegend
0 posts
Posted 08 April 2010 at 03:47
Permalink
1 reply
Login to post a comment
Setherial
349 posts
The attacker must say how damage will be divided after blockers are declared and before damage resolves. The attacker must assign lethal damage to the first blocker he chooses before he can assign damage to the next and the next and so on.
This means that when your 2/2 is blocked by 2 1/2's you have to assign 2 damage to one of these creatures and none to the other. If your creature was a 3/2 you are allowed to assign 2 damage to one creature and 1 to the other but you are also allowed to assign 3 damage to one and none to the other. Lethat damage is just the minimum.
An exception to this rule is deathtouch. If your critter happens to have deathtouch you are allowed to assign 1 damage to each blocker and kill both.
0
Posted 08 April 2010 at 07:03
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!