Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
indestructable
ok so heres the set up
march of the machines + darksteel forge + mycosynth lattice + lands
does that mean that the opponents lands die, but mine are still there?
question is. if i have a "creature" thats indestructable, but also a 0/0 is it still alive?
esgal
70 posts
Posted 11 April 2010 at 23:15
Permalink
5 replies
Login to post a comment
Brother_Of_Cho
6 posts
I believe that the answer to your creature question is no, it doesn't die.
On the enchantment Indestructability, the rule text clearly states that damage does not destroy indestructable creatures.
The only downside of said 0/0 indestructable creature is when trample is introduced to the situation, and the creature isn't beefed up.
0
Posted 11 April 2010 at 23:53
Permalink
esgal
70 posts
oh im fine with it not being able to do/take any damage, its just a bad thing if my lands are all dead. i played a game earlier today that we decided that both of our lands were all dead, so the game was very boring, i ended up winning because i had a bunch of 2/2s tokens
0
Posted 12 April 2010 at 02:05
Permalink
thatoneguy
33 posts
Actually your lands do die. A creature with 0 toughness is put into the graveyard by a statebased effect so indestructability doesn't matter.
0
Posted 12 April 2010 at 02:16
Permalink
Shadowex3
2 posts
Thatoneguy is right, a creature can't survive with 0 toughness. Indestructibility can be thought of as allowing damage to occur without altering a creature's toughness, but wither and negative counters will still kill an indestructible creature.
Plus you can still Exile an indestructible.
0
Posted 13 April 2010 at 00:06
Permalink
pelican
4 posts
to be official about it, this is the meaning of destroy, indestructible creatures by definition may NOT be "destroyed"
701.6. Destroy
701.6a To destroy a permanent, move it from the battlefield to its owner’s graveyard.
701.6b The only ways a permanent can be destroyed are as a result of an effect that uses the word “destroy” or as a result of the state-based actions that check for lethal damage (see rule 704.5g) or damage from a source with deathtouch (see rule 704.5h). If a permanent is put into its owner’s graveyard for any other reason, it hasn’t been “destroyed.”
701.6c A regeneration effect replaces a destruction event. See rule 701.11, “Regenerate.”
0
Posted 17 April 2010 at 20:19
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!