Discussion Forum

how many instants and enchantments per creature?

Lets say i have two instant cards that give my creature +2/+2, can i use them both on the same creature?

And if i have a creature that is enchanted with a +/+ card can i also use an instant on it?
Posted 17 April 2010 at 12:08

Permalink

yes, there's no limitation to the number of spells that can target or affect a creature
0
Posted 17 April 2010 at 13:06

Permalink

Actually there is one way I know of to limit yourself: Shroud. If you put two-way shroud (as opposed to the awesome one-way shroud) on a creature then you can't do anything else to it either.

I've seen people start swearing when they put Trace of Abundance on a land they really want to "untap target land"...
0
Posted 17 April 2010 at 19:31

Permalink

[QUOTE=Shadowex3]Actually there is one way I know of to limit yourself: Shroud. If you put two-way shroud (as opposed to the awesome one-way shroud) on a creature then you can't do anything else to it either.

I've seen people start swearing when they put Trace of Abundance on a land they really want to "untap target land"...[/QUOTE]

no offense here shadow, but was this comment really necessary?? what seras means is that the game rules dont limit any such actions and therefore what he said was valid.

in magic theres ALWAYS exceptions to the game rules(this is called the golden rule--if a card disagrees with the game rules, the card is right)

so once again, im not trying to be rude but you should try to keep your posts on topic and actually helpful/relevant otherwise you're kinda trollling, and its kinda annoying when people see these types of responses a lot

but its not like im an admin or anything, so this is just a personal request
0
Posted 17 April 2010 at 21:25

Permalink

Yes it is because when you're stacking all of this it's important to know about the one really big screwup you can make that also makes it really hard for you to fix.

Also don't insult anyone's intelligence by saying you aren't trying to be rude, especially after your recent spam binge copypasting out of the rulebook.
0
Posted 17 April 2010 at 23:24

Permalink

[QUOTE]Yes it is because when you're stacking all of this it's important to know about the one really big screwup you can make that also makes it really hard for you to fix.[/QUOTE]

shadow you ARE correct, im not saying what you said wasn't right or true or anything of that nature, or wasn't in anyway useful...it just didn't follow the actual discussion really

compare it to this, if i were to ask if they could play a creature on an opponent's turn and i responded saying that no creatures may only be played during your own main phase, a similar response from you would be

"well if the creature had flash, or if an effect allowed it to be cast like flash, then yes it could be cast during an opp's turn"

do you see what i mean how this type of response isn't actually what the thread is about?

also dont take what i said as though im saying you ARE a troll, because you aren't generally what you post is correct and relevant, i was making a one-time comment

[QUOTE]Also don't insult anyone's intelligence by saying you aren't trying to be rude, especially after your recent spam binge copypasting out of the rulebook.[/QUOTE]

why would i be insulting anyone's intellignece? do you think its impossible that i'm saying something such as constructive criticism? just because i disagree with your post and say that what you said wasn't relevant etc. this doesn't mean im trying to insult you, or that i have any negative intention on my part, im simply stating my thoughts as neutrally as i could, dont take it so personally

also may I ask what citing rule references has to do with me being rude?? i dont see your logic here. You also seem to think this is a negative thing. Its not, its a matter-of-fact way of getting the absolute answer without leaving any chance of misinterpretation for players who might be confused by or mislead by the explanations that posters here online make(myself included)

youll notice that in certain threads i actually commented in my own words(where i thought words would explain better than rule jargon) and other times i simply added the rule citation(where the answer had already been given-sometimes by yourself personally-and i simply wanted to give the official ruling for reference

if you have some problem with this, then please speak to one of the admin's and if necesary ill be pleased to adjust the manner in which i respond to such threads

until then please leave the personal feelings out of it
0
Posted 18 April 2010 at 03:20

Permalink

I don't see how that example answer is remotely unhelpful, it answers the original question and explains the main situation where you WOULD see a creature cast during an opponents turn so the OP doesnt flip when he inevitably sees it.

As for citing rules... we know about the rulebook, we can all read the rulebook. Making a massive pagelong copypost from the rulebook isn't very helpful when someone's asking a question, it's why I stopped quoting rules except when it was really important to have the rule specifically.
0
Posted 18 April 2010 at 14:31

Permalink

[QUOTE=pelican]no offense here shadow, but was this comment really necessary??[/QUOTE]

WTF??? In my opinion what Shadow added was totally relevant. It's a very common place occurance that people with enchantment decks give their creature shroud and then find out they just locked themselves.
The guy who posted this is obviously new so I think telling him about special cases is very helpful.


@DeadLegend: when you target an enchanted creature with an instant do keep in mind that while you target the creature all of the attached aura's are taken into account. Meaning if you lightning bolt a 2/2 creature with a +2/+2 aura attached to it it won't die. I'm not implying that you did not know this but just in case :)
0
Posted 19 April 2010 at 07:11

Permalink

lol pelican you raised a more irelivant point by ranting about shadow.
p.s. i know this is also irelivant thx
0
Posted 20 April 2010 at 18:14

Permalink