Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
Area effect damage and shroud
What is the ruling on area effect damage that does not target creatures but just deals blanket damage to all players and creatures and Shroud? Something like a earthquake that deal x damage to all creatures without flying will that effect shrouded creatures? The shrouded creature isn't being targeted by any spells and abillities and it is a creature so it should be dealt x damage no?
Wrathmane
19 posts
Posted 18 April 2010 at 13:38
Permalink
6 replies
Login to post a comment
Shadowex3
2 posts
Shroud won't protect a creature from sweepers like Earthquake, Pyroclasm, or especially Wrath. They'll still take the damage and/or be destroyed or whatever the applicable effect is.
Shroud's exactly what it says on the tin: "may not target". If it's not being targetted then shroud doesn't do anything.
[edit]
To clarify on protection since my pre-breakfast post was worded poorly: Damage, Equip/Enchant, Block, and Targetting (DEBT) are prevented by protection but other sweeper effects ("whatever the applicable effect is") from power/toughness modifications to exiling and destruction will still work. You can Wrath something with protection from white, and something with protection from green will still benefit from Overrun.
0
Posted 18 April 2010 at 14:26
Permalink
thatoneguy
33 posts
shadow Blanket damage wouldn't damage a creature with protection
0
Posted 18 April 2010 at 16:00
Permalink
Shadowex3
2 posts
I was meaning that shot about protection to refer only to destruction or other effects but that wasn't very clear, reworded now. Thanks thatoneguy, I need to stop posting before I eat breakfast if that original post made sense to me >.<
0
Posted 18 April 2010 at 16:25
Permalink
pelican
4 posts
what does protection from "blank" have to do with anything...he asked about shroud
but indeed anything without the word or spells which otherwise targets something(an aura for example) has no relation to shroud whatsoever
0
Posted 18 April 2010 at 23:12
Permalink
seras
59 posts
he meant "protect" as in the English word...not the MTG keyword Protection, then clarified since the other made the same misinterpretation.
0
Posted 19 April 2010 at 00:49
Permalink
pelican
4 posts
[QUOTE=Seras]he meant "protect" as in the English word...not the MTG keyword Protection, then clarified since the other made the same misinterpretation.[/QUOTE]
ahh i see, very good then
0
Posted 19 April 2010 at 04:03
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!