Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
pestilence
does pestilence effect planeswalkers?
NoobishWarrior
0 posts
Posted 06 May 2010 at 01:35
Permalink
11 replies
Login to post a comment
Shadowex3
2 posts
For once a rulequote is worth it, 212.9g: "If noncombat damage would be dealt to a player by a source controlled by an opponent, that opponent may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker the first player controls instead."
So yeah apparently you can, a few judges have posted online in various places to confirm this.
0
Posted 06 May 2010 at 05:21
Permalink
NoobishWarrior
0 posts
okay so if someone were to use it i could redirect the damage from me to the planeswalker?
0
Posted 08 May 2010 at 23:16
Permalink
Shadowex3
2 posts
The way the rule is worded already tells you that. If a player would take damage from a source an opponent controls, that OPPONENT may redirect the damage to a planeswalker the damaged player controls.
Magic is played significantly and possibly primarily by obsessive compulsives and people who excel more than any other group at analyzing and breaking systems. Chances are if you have a question (like this one) that the dudes worded the rule in a way that it deals with it.
0
Posted 08 May 2010 at 23:32
Permalink
pelican
4 posts
[QUOTE=Noobishwarrior]okay so if someone were to use it i could redirect the damage from me to the planeswalker?[/QUOTE]
no...like shadow mentioned with that rule quote, the opponent decides where the damage goes
this is just like how you can lightning bolt a planeswalker, or attack a planeswalker
on another note I'm kinda surprised that something like pestilence doesn't deal 1 damage to all player, creatures AND all planeswalkers(because essentially they are treated as players)
0
Posted 09 May 2010 at 16:56
Permalink
NoteworthyPlaysDecks
0 posts
[QUOTE=pelican]no...like shadow mentioned with that rule quote, the opponent decides where the damage goes
this is just like how you can lightning bolt a planeswalker, or attack a planeswalker
on another note I'm kinda surprised that something like pestilence doesn't deal 1 damage to all player, creatures AND all planeswalkers(because essentially they are treated as players)[/QUOTE]
I doubt they're gonna errata it just for planeswalkers.
0
Posted 09 May 2010 at 18:59
Permalink
pelican
4 posts
i just mean in general for all cards which make similar effects such as earthquake
0
Posted 09 May 2010 at 20:19
Permalink
Shadowex3
2 posts
That would make it way too powerful. Think about it. Last time I played against a judge I found out the hard way damage is redirected AFTER the spell resolves. That means that not only would you be doing N damage to every planeswalker to begin with but you could also wait until nobody counters the spell and then do N damage AGAIN to a planeswalker.
0
Posted 09 May 2010 at 23:25
Permalink
pelican
4 posts
[QUOTE=Shadowex3]That would make it way too powerful. Think about it. Last time I played against a judge I found out the hard way damage is redirected AFTER the spell resolves. That means that not only would you be doing N damage to every planeswalker to begin with but you could also wait until nobody counters the spell and then do N damage AGAIN to a planeswalker.[/QUOTE]
where's this "AGAIN" coming from...I'm not sure I follow your point...? Explain please
0
Posted 10 May 2010 at 00:12
Permalink
Shadowex3
2 posts
[quote]on another note I'm kinda surprised that something like pestilence doesn't deal 1 damage to all player, creatures AND all planeswalkers(because essentially they are treated as players)[/quote]
In response to that, because then you'd do <amount> damage to a planeswalker automatically, and have the option to redirect the damage going to it's controller to the planeswalker for double the damage to the planeswalker in total.
0
Posted 10 May 2010 at 00:19
Permalink
pelican
4 posts
[QUOTE=Shadowex3]In response to that, because then you'd do <amount> damage to a planeswalker automatically, and have the option to redirect the damage going to it's controller to the planeswalker for double the damage to the planeswalker in total.[/QUOTE]
so basically it works like:
i cast lightning bolt(having the ability to ONLY target a creature or a player)
if i don't target a creature i therefore target the player
the spell has a chance to be countered/affected
then it resolves
THEN i decide i want it to damage the planeswalker?
is this what the rule entails?
0
Posted 10 May 2010 at 00:44
Permalink
NoteworthyPlaysDecks
0 posts
That's exactly what that rule entails. Basically, since applying the damage to an opponent's planeswalker is an optional replacement effect, you don't have to choose until the damage is going to happen, after the spell starts to resolve.
0
Posted 10 May 2010 at 05:00
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!