Discussion Forum

Raging Ravine double activation?

At last FNM, one of my friends was playing against a wall deck and was attacking with raging ravine.
He was paying the activation cost twice, and then claiming that when RR attacked it would get two +1+1 counters. I do not think it should get the 2 counters, as I do not think that the ability stacks.
Anybody got the final word on this one?
Posted 10 May 2010 at 01:44

Permalink

From the official rulings:

[quote]Each time you activate Raging Ravine's last ability, it gains an instance of the triggered ability "Whenever this creature attacks, put a +1/+1 counter on it." For example, if you activate the last ability twice and then attack with Raging Ravine, both of the triggered abilities it gained will trigger. It will get a total of two +1/+1 counters.[/quote]

It's the same concept as Dragonsoul Knight. Making it a dragon multiple times may not do anything but giving it +x/+y multiple times does stack.

Thus the same with Raging Ravine, the ability which gives it +1/+1 counters when it attacks can be put on there multiple times and thus trigger multiple times. There's nothing in there that conflicts with stacking it so it works.
0
Posted 10 May 2010 at 02:53

Permalink

Thank you very much.
0
Posted 10 May 2010 at 04:14

Permalink

woah this is cool!!!! I didn't know.
0
Posted 17 May 2010 at 08:56

Permalink

Ok, so coming from the same perspective, Rage Nimbus has: 1colorless1red make target creature attack if able. So can you pay the cost multiple times for multiple creatures?
0
Posted 26 May 2010 at 22:09

Permalink

If you can pay the costs and nothing says you can't do it then you can do it.
0
Posted 26 May 2010 at 23:06

Permalink