Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
Spells Targeting Players
My question is:
Can your opponent(s) use spells that target players (i.e. Blightning) on Planeswalkers?
Brother_Of_Cho
6 posts
Posted 22 May 2010 at 15:00
Permalink
4 replies
Login to post a comment
NoobishWarrior
0 posts
Yes, yes they can
0
Posted 22 May 2010 at 16:18
Permalink
seras
59 posts
no, no they can't.
however:
"If a source you control would deal noncombat damage to an opponent, you may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker that opponent controls instead. This is a redirection effect: you choose whether to redirect the damage as the redirection effect is applied, and it's subject to the normal rules for ordering replacement effects. The player affected by the damage chooses the order in which to apply such effects, but the controller of the source of the damage chooses whether the damage is redirected. Note that this redirection can't be applied to combat damage."
so while the damage can still be applied to the planeswalker there's a crucial difference in that you still have to target the player.
0
Posted 22 May 2010 at 18:31
Permalink
Shadowex3
2 posts
^^^ The distinction IS important. If the player has shroud his planeswalkers are protected from player->planeswalker damage redirection but not from O-rings.
0
Posted 22 May 2010 at 21:11
Permalink
NoobishWarrior
0 posts
that's fair, i assumed damage spells instead of all spells, my mistake
0
Posted 23 May 2010 at 20:02
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!