Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
Hissing Iguanar double death
Hissing Iguanar
if i have two of them out... and both are killed simultaneously in battle due to combat damage... will both of their abilities trigger, meaning i get to shoot my opponent for 2 dmg in total (1 from each)?
-V
Vornek
2 posts
Posted 22 May 2010 at 20:56
Permalink
6 replies
Login to post a comment
NoteworthyPlaysDecks
0 posts
yep, they both see the other one leaving the battlefield and trigger, you get to ping your opponent for 2.
0
Posted 23 May 2010 at 00:30
Permalink
Vornek
2 posts
k thx, i was a bit unsure there.
-V
0
Posted 23 May 2010 at 09:59
Permalink
SaltyCrakr
4 posts
Actually, no. In my experience, cards are killed and put into a graveyard in a "stack" type of manor. So if you had two of those and another random creature and all of them died, you could choose to put the random creature into the graveyard first, getting a trigger from both, then one iguanar, getting one more ping, then the last one for nothing.
My experience was with Pawn of Ulamog and getting Day of Judgmented. I was able to put all of the creatures besides the pawn into my graveyard before pawn, getting a bunch of spawn tokens. Hope that helps.
0
Posted 23 May 2010 at 18:14
Permalink
Shadowex3
2 posts
[QUOTE=NightLoki]yep, they both see the other one leaving the battlefield and trigger, you get to ping your opponent for 2.[/QUOTE]
I was suprised to find out the rules (410.10d specifically) actually agree with this one, you'd think it wouldn't work but it seems that it does. Apparently this guy was made specifically as anti-sweeper insurance, someone wraths the field or something and it's going to hurt.
0
Posted 23 May 2010 at 20:52
Permalink
NoteworthyPlaysDecks
0 posts
[QUOTE=SaltyCrakr]Actually, no. In my experience, cards are killed and put into a graveyard in a "stack" type of manor. So if you had two of those and another random creature and all of them died, you could choose to put the random creature into the graveyard first, getting a trigger from both, then one iguanar, getting one more ping, then the last one for nothing.
My experience was with Pawn of Ulamog and getting Day of Judgmented. I was able to put all of the creatures besides the pawn into my graveyard before pawn, getting a bunch of spawn tokens. Hope that helps.[/QUOTE]
It's all simultaneous, since it happens at the same time you get the tokens from all those triggers from pawn. Then once the DoJ is done resolving, the triggers go on the stack, resolve, and you get tokens.
[QUOTE=Shadowex3;8486]I was suprised to find out the rules (410.10d specifically) actually agree with this one, you'd think it wouldn't work but it seems that it does. Apparently this guy was made specifically as anti-sweeper insurance, someone wraths the field or something and it's going to hurt.[/QUOTE]
Yup, that's why it's pretty good in limited.
0
Posted 24 May 2010 at 00:30
Permalink
SaltyCrakr
4 posts
Really now? Well, that makes more sense I suppose. Good to have it cleared up.
0
Posted 24 May 2010 at 00:34
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!