Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
DeathTouch & Kusari-gama
My question is if a card like Vampire Nighthawk that has deathtouch if i equip it with Kusari-Gama that deals that much damage to each other creature defending player controls does the deathtouch apply to every creature and kill every creature they control.
Kusari-Gama link
http://www.mtgvault.com/ViewCard_Popup.aspx?CardName=Kusari-Gama&Edition=CHK&Print=1
Vampire Nighthawk
http://www.mtgvault.com/ViewCard_Popup.aspx?CardName=Vampire%20Nighthawk&Edition=ZEN&Print=1
SpartanINC
0 posts
Posted 27 May 2010 at 04:31
Permalink
5 replies
Login to post a comment
Shadowex3
2 posts
Deathtouch is an effect that says "If any creature takes damage from something with deathtouch it is destroyed", so yeah it really is that nice to give a pinger deathtouch (especially a goblin sniper) or a deathtoucher a way to Spread Their love.
0
Posted 27 May 2010 at 05:18
Permalink
NoteworthyPlaysDecks
0 posts
Actually it's Kusari-gama that deals the damage, not Vampire Nighthawk, so it would not carry over deathtouch. If it instead said 'the equipped creature deals damage...' then it would work.
0
Posted 27 May 2010 at 10:03
Permalink
goblinguide
55 posts
Some cards add the ability to the permanent/creature it is attached to, where as others retain the ability as in this case. So if you tried to play Irresisitable Prey, for example, and force your opponent to block a creature with "deathtouch" such as Toxic Iguanar while equipped with Kusari-gama it is the Kusari-gama artifact that deals the damage to the other creatures rather than your creature with death touch.
But a nice trick is to give a creature with death touch the "first strike" static ability. A small creature such as Toxic Iguanar can destroy enormous creatures (power/toughness) and not even receive a scratch since death touch kicks in and resolves after first strike damage and before regular combat damage is dealt.
Note: Under the new rules once damage is dealt there is no more stack, except for trggered abilities. So a player cannot save a creature from perishing to deathtouch/firststrike once it is dealt. If someone wants to save a creature they must do so when they have priority right after blockers are declared. Never tip your hand. Make your opponent declare all blockers before responding with instants or abilities. In otherwords there is no more stack for damage, except for triggered abilities. The new rules require one to remove a creature from the field with an instant or give it protection from a color prior to damage being delt as it resolves immediately and no longer creates a stack. If removed from the field after declared a blocker, for example, with Aether Tradewinds, the creature does not deal any damage to the creature it blocked, but the creature is still considered blocked - its damage does not reach you the wizard, however, unless the creature has trample or double strike.
0
Posted 28 May 2010 at 02:33
Permalink
NoteworthyPlaysDecks
0 posts
[QUOTE=goblinguide] If removed from the field after declared a blocker, for example, with Aether Tradewinds, the creature does not deal any damage to the creature it blocked, but the creature is still considered blocked - its damage does not reach you the wizard, however, unless the creature has trample or double strike.[/QUOTE]
Just to clarify, if you Aether Tradewinds a creature that's blocking a creature with Double Strike, no damage will be dealt to the player. If the blocker is removed from combat and the attacking creature has Trample, it will go over.
0
Posted 28 May 2010 at 03:24
Permalink
Shadowex3
2 posts
[QUOTE=NightLoki]Actually it's Kusari-gama that deals the damage, not Vampire Nighthawk, so it would not carry over deathtouch. If it instead said 'the equipped creature deals damage...' then it would work.[/QUOTE]
Nice catch, I missed that.
0
Posted 28 May 2010 at 08:44
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!