Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
Tapping Planeswalkers
Fate Stitcher from Shards of Alara can tap a permanent. It seems that Tezzeret the Seeker is broken. Once played he goes to 5 immediately with his first ability. If he becomes tapped after playing his first ability as a socery will that shut off his other abilities from being played - preventing all the artifacts from becoming 5/5 creatures the same turn he is cast? Or is there no way to stop this except with Pithing Needles (cards that prevent abilities from being used).
goblinguide
55 posts
Posted 28 May 2010 at 08:19
Permalink
3 replies
Login to post a comment
NoteworthyPlaysDecks
0 posts
Tapping a planeswalker doesn't do anything, they can activate their abilities tapped or untapped.
0
Posted 28 May 2010 at 08:26
Permalink
Shadowex3
2 posts
It makes more sense if you think of tapping as though it were a cost rather than it's own thing. An Imperious Perfect for example must pay green and tap to create a token, if it's tapped it can't pay the part of the cost that requires it tap. An Azorius Chancellor on the other hand need only have some mana paid to activate an ability, it doesnt need to pay "tap this creature" as part of the cost.
A planeswalker's abilities cost loyalty counters. Some cost adding counters, some cost removing them. They don't cost "tap this permanent".
0
Posted 28 May 2010 at 08:41
Permalink
seras
59 posts
also, you can only use one of his abilities per turn, regardless of tapping.
so no, you can never trigger his "Artifacts you control become 5/5 artifact creatures until end of turn." ability on the first turn he is in play.
0
Posted 28 May 2010 at 12:06
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!