Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
Hada Spy Patrol
Hada is cast, then leveled up once and next turn hyena umbra is put on him, then venerated teacher is cast making hada lvl 3 with shroud. My question is, does the umbra stay since it was cast before hada received the shroud ability or does it drop off him because of the ability?
Also, in a three player game when one player is finished off, do all his enchantments on opponents cards stay active?
thanks
Kasper
1 post
Posted 05 June 2010 at 13:46
Permalink
5 replies
Login to post a comment
NoobishWarrior
0 posts
as for the three player game, im almost certain that the enchantments drop off, at least thats the way ive been playing, and the hada spy patrol The enchantment is already on so its not being targeted anymore, or at least that s what makes sense to me. once again not cetain but i think the umbra stays on
0
Posted 05 June 2010 at 23:57
Permalink
Lucas_919
3 posts
[QUOTE=Noobishwarrior]as for the three player game, im almost certain that the enchantments drop off, at least thats the way ive been playing, and the hada spy patrol The enchantment is already on so its not being targeted anymore, or at least that s what makes sense to me. once again not cetain but i think the umbra stays on[/QUOTE]
Yeah, this all makes sense to me, the enchantment would definitely stay after the shroud ability was activated because it is no longer targeting Hada.
When a player is eliminated from a 3+ player game their enchantments will go with them because the enchantment no longer has a controller even if it is on an opponents permanent
0
Posted 06 June 2010 at 03:20
Permalink
Shadowex3
2 posts
Wrong, it no longer has an OWNER. Control changes, ownership does not. I can use Nicol Bolas' -2 to take control of any creature permanently but the other guy still owns it and if he dies that creature goes away.
The umbra stuff is right though, shroud prevents something from being targetted but it's not retroactive. What WOULD make it drop off is Protection.
0
Posted 06 June 2010 at 08:41
Permalink
Lucas_919
3 posts
ok, but what control changes if I enchant your creature with Pacifism? I still control the enchantment. So if I die the enchantment would lose it's controller would it not, regardless of who owns it?
0
Posted 07 June 2010 at 00:17
Permalink
Shadowex3
2 posts
Ah I see what the misunderstanding is now. Magic is a lot like legal statutes, a lot of the words used are very specifically a given word for a specific reason. Cast for example means something completely different from merely "putting into play". Right now you've got the words Control and Own backwards. The player that started with a given card in their deck (or created a given token) Owns it forever, but Control refers to whoever currently has posession of the card and can control it's actions.
Let me use an example that gets a lot of beginners (myself included): I use Nicol Bolas' -2 ability to permanently steal a creature which is equipped with Trusty Machete (giving it +2/+1). I now have control of that creature while the original player still has ownership of it. Then there is the Machete, which I neither control nor own but may be able to steal control of seperately.
If that player then dies for some reason both the Creature and the Machete leave play as a state based effect due to his death because he Owned them.
0
Posted 07 June 2010 at 00:29
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!