Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
Q on Darien @ Soul Warden
I have 5 life. I have Darien, King of Kjeldor and Soul's Attendant on the field. My enemy has 5 1/1 tokens and I cannot block them.
What will happen? Will the damage from each attacking creature be treated seperately, i.e. i take 1 damage from the token, I get a token, I get 1 life? Or will the damage be treated as one pack of 5 damage, i.e. I take 5 damage, my life total becomes 0 and as a state based effect I lose before i get any tokens?
Thanks in advance.
pastahunter
0 posts
Posted 11 July 2010 at 16:02
Permalink
3 replies
Login to post a comment
Shadowex3
2 posts
Darien's ability requires you be dealt damage in order to work, and damage no longer uses the stack but is instead resolved simultaneously and instantly. The thing is state based effects are cleaned up right before priority passes but you don't need priority for those triggered abilities to go off...
I think because triggered abilities go on the stack the next time you would recieve priority that you would still die because state-based effects are cleaned up BEFORE priority passes.
0
Posted 11 July 2010 at 21:27
Permalink
pastahunter
0 posts
So if I have those two on the field, I can take any amount of damage as long as it's less than my life total?
0
Posted 11 July 2010 at 22:05
Permalink
Shadowex3
2 posts
That I can say with certainty: Yes, as long as nothing happens to those two or their abilities you can take any amount of damage that is at least 1 less than your life total and when everything resolves you'll get it back.
Do beware of someone swinging for N-1 damage and then just bolting you, or that soul warden, in the face though.
0
Posted 11 July 2010 at 22:18
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!