Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
Question about stack and 'in response'
so say i want to use a creature ability to say....spit out a token and it requires my creature to tap. if someone uses seal of doom on my creature...do i still get a token?
tpgh
41 posts
Posted 12 July 2010 at 19:19
Permalink
14 replies
Login to post a comment
seras
59 posts
yes
you trigger the creature's ability and it goes on the stack
your opponent responds by casting Seal of Doom which goes on top of the stack.
the stack resolves, first the Seal, killing your creature, then your creature's ability, creating a token in this case.
0
Posted 12 July 2010 at 20:17
Permalink
tpgh
41 posts
but why does this work? even though my creature isn't there anymore...shouldn't the ability not exist anymore?
0
Posted 13 July 2010 at 04:45
Permalink
Setherial
349 posts
it's a game, it has rules, the rules say that everything placed on the stack will resolve once the stack resolves. The source of the spell or ability on the stack does not play a part in this.
I guess this is exactly why they removed damage on the stack in the new rules. It didn't make any sense but it was a very powerful mechanic that allowed you to do some reallly wacky things. So what is more important, rules that allow for strategy or stuff that makes sense in a conventional way? Give me damage on the stack back anyday, it ruled.
As for your case, it sort of makes sense if you imagine it this way:
- I'm a gunslinger and I shoot
- You shoot back in response but my bullet is alreay flying (on the stack)
- I die from your bullet
- My bullet however still kills the poor old lady that happened to cross the street just behind you :)
0
Posted 13 July 2010 at 06:44
Permalink
pastahunter
0 posts
[QUOTE=Seras]yes
you trigger the creature's ability and it goes on the stack
your opponent responds by casting Seal of Doom which goes on top of the stack.
the stack resolves, first the Seal, killing your creature, then your creature's ability, creating a token in this case.[/QUOTE]
This is just me being perfectionist, so don't really pay attention to this, but you activate the ability, not trigger it.
But your explanation does cover what happens. tphg gets the token.
This could be an exception: cards with Split Second can be played outside of the stack, so they might be able to stop your tapping ability, but I doubt that as well.
0
Posted 13 July 2010 at 15:37
Permalink
tpgh
41 posts
is there anything they can do to stop me from making a token with (selesnaya evangel)?
0
Posted 13 July 2010 at 17:02
Permalink
kuroryuud
9 posts
This: Stifle
0
Posted 13 July 2010 at 17:19
Permalink
seras
59 posts
[QUOTE=pastahunter]This is just me being perfectionist, so don't really pay attention to this, but you activate the ability, not trigger it.
But your explanation does cover what happens. tphg gets the token.
This could be an exception: cards with Split Second can be played outside of the stack, so they might be able to stop your tapping ability, but I doubt that as well.[/QUOTE]
since we're being perfectionists: cards with Split Second are not played outside the stack, they go on the stack like any other spell or activity and follow it's normal rules.
the only difference is that it locks the stack from being further modified until the Split Second spell resolves.
0
Posted 13 July 2010 at 17:36
Permalink
Setherial
349 posts
I second what Seras said
[QUOTE=KuroRyuuD]This: Stifle[/QUOTE]
As KuroRyuuD mentions here there are a special type of counter spells that don't counter spells but abilities or both. Stifle is one, there are others like Trickbind and voidslime. There are also creatures that can do this.
Your ability to make a token still goes on the stack but it is countered just like cancel can prevent a summoned creature from entering the battlefield by countering the spell once its on the stack.
0
Posted 13 July 2010 at 19:19
Permalink
tpgh
41 posts
hmm ok. what about sacrificing an eldrazi spawn for its mana ability? what if he gets bolted in response?
sorry for so many questions but it seems that i have to re-learn all the rules of the stack now...
0
Posted 13 July 2010 at 19:37
Permalink
pastahunter
0 posts
Bolting that eldrazi spawn is a waste of your burn card. The creature will die anyway, and since the 1 mana is already on the stack, the controller will get that 1 mana.
Sorry about that mistake with Split Second, I couldn't remember what it exactly was or be bothered to look it up. I guess I should have been more vague than I already was lol.
0
Posted 13 July 2010 at 23:17
Permalink
tpgh
41 posts
ahh, thanks all for the clarification. i'll remember the fact that once something is on the stack, it stays there and will go through unless countered.
would that be a safe way to interpretate this?
0
Posted 14 July 2010 at 01:41
Permalink
Setherial
349 posts
actually the spawns ability goes on the stack, not the mana, mana goes into your mana pool. The ability can still be countered with stifle or the likes as mentioned above.
The situation is exactly the same as before, stuff goes on the stack, the stack resolves, the effects trigger. Destroying the source has no impact on wether or not the abilities trigger.
read this: http://mtgsalvation.com/794-priority-and-the-stack.html
it's goood!!!
0
Posted 14 July 2010 at 07:08
Permalink
tpgh
41 posts
thank you again!!! imma make sure to remember this.
0
Posted 14 July 2010 at 22:11
Permalink
Shadowex3
2 posts
Don't worry about it, the stack gets EVERYONE at some point.
0
Posted 15 July 2010 at 03:56
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!