Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
Blocking
If I attack with a creature and my opponent blocks does the blocking effect still happen after I Path to Exile or Unsummon the blocker? Does the blocking go on the stack?
notassociated
100 posts
Posted 20 July 2010 at 19:28
Permalink
13 replies
Login to post a comment
kuroryuud
9 posts
Yes. Your creature will still get blocked, but nor it will receive nor will it deal damage. Your best bet here is that your creature has Trample, then it will continue attacking past the Unsummon`ed creature.
0
Posted 20 July 2010 at 19:40
Permalink
Shadowex3
2 posts
...Kuro...
Combat damage is not assigned or resolved (to creatures, planeswalkers, or players) until the Combat Damage step. If a creature is removed from the battlefield it is removed from combat and thus is no longer a blocking creature.
0
Posted 21 July 2010 at 07:46
Permalink
seras
59 posts
hum...what?
0
Posted 21 July 2010 at 11:13
Permalink
Shadowex3
2 posts
[QUOTE=Seras]hum...what?[/QUOTE]
The guy asked if damage will go through if a blocker is killed after it's declared. Kuro said the blocker would somehow magically block a creature from beyond the grave.
0
Posted 22 July 2010 at 00:07
Permalink
seras
59 posts
actually no, once the creature is declared as a blocker, destroying it or moving it to another zone doesn't change the fact that it blocked.
the creature itself is no longer in a state of "blocking", however by then the attacking creature it was blocking does remain blocked.
0
Posted 22 July 2010 at 03:05
Permalink
Shadowex3
2 posts
Can I get a rules citation on that because following a literal reading of the combat phase rules torching a blocker would not work like that.
0
Posted 22 July 2010 at 03:10
Permalink
seras
59 posts
see example 2:50 into http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2d55FQgut1E
5th question here: http://community.wizards.com/go/thread/view/75842/19172802/Rules_Q38;A_-_The_Main_Rules_FAQ?post_id=326589706#326589706
0
Posted 22 July 2010 at 03:44
Permalink
Jiggs
4 posts
its still blocked... no damage to creature nor player though. seras s correct if the creature attacking has trample then it will damage the player. best thing to do is to unsummon first then attack. hehehe
0
Posted 16 August 2010 at 00:42
Permalink
Setherial
349 posts
Shadowex3: wtf man??? this is basic stuff!
Seras and Jiggs are ofcourse correct
an attacking creature that was blocked remains blocked regardlesss of what happens to the blocker after blockers are declared. Creatures with trample will still deal damage to the player but creatures that don't have trample will deal no damage.
For example: A Tarmogoyf equipped with Umezawa's Jitte attacks and the defending player blocks with Sakura Tribe Elder, then sacks Sakura Tribe Elder to fetch a land. When damage resolves no combat damage is done. The Tarmogoyf was blocked but the blocker no longer exists so it deals no damage and no counters are added to the Jitte.
0
Posted 16 August 2010 at 07:52
Permalink
Shadowex3
2 posts
I always thought that block-sac worked because your sac overruled the damage being dealt, not because you could basically stop a creature dead in it's tracks just by saying "he's blocking" right before it dies.
0
Posted 16 August 2010 at 08:45
Permalink
Setherial
349 posts
[QUOTE=Shadowex3]I always thought that block-sac worked because your sac overruled the damage being dealt, not because you could basically stop a creature dead in it's tracks just by saying "he's blocking" right before it dies.[/QUOTE]
Yeah well, absurt as that might sound it's the way it is. This is the reason they removed the damage on the stack rule. You cannot explain funny shit like my ravonous baloth puts it's damage on the stack, then sacks itself for 4 life and then still kills your guy from the grave to new players without sounding like you are trying to sell a game that doesn't make sense. Logic aside it was a crazy powerful mechanic though and in my book that's more important then trying to keep things simple at any cost.
0
Posted 16 August 2010 at 09:26
Permalink
Shadowex3
2 posts
Internal consistency is more important than power, if they can find a way to make that work that's internally consistent with the rest of the game then great for them but looking at how that was there's no way to justify that sort of behavior other than "just cause".
0
Posted 17 August 2010 at 07:15
Permalink
seras
59 posts
think of it this way:
attackers are declared: a goblin unit is sent forward to attack the elven forces
blockers are declared: the elf commander assigns a joraga warcaller to go block that specific goblin unit
the two units approach each other, scout out the area and adopt a position they consider tactically advantageous.
the goblin unit knows the elves will pelt them with arrows so they sneak through some woods to approach.
once the goblin unit finally arrives where they expected the elf ambush, the elves are no longer there, they've been called home by their commander.
that goblin unit is still out in those woods, they've already used up what movement/attack they can accomplish this turn, whether the enemy showed up or not.
that's more or less how i picture these types of scenario happening "in-game"
0
Posted 17 August 2010 at 12:02
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!