Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
Multiple Questions (fairly new to magic)
Hey everyone!
I haven't played magic for THAT long, but I am building a new deck and have multiple questions about how things work out in it. I would be really happy if you guys would answer my noobish questions. I have been playing about 3 months around eventide and then I started again a just 7 days ago or so. I hope it isn't a bother to ask!
First off, I play a Black/White deck and am going for no creatures on their side and just total board control if possible. Gravestorm is my baby and I am going to add a few more cards into the deck in the next week.
Preview of my current layout. I have multiple cards coming in that I am going to add and work into this deck!
http://www.mtgvault.com/ViewDeck.aspx?DeckID=78252 - im going for 60 but liek I said im going to mix and match other cards.
Q1. when a land like Leechridden Swamp comes into play tapped, does that mean the Black mana is in use already and I could be burned if not used, or does that mean it can't be used this turn. I also have Orzhov Basilica that does the same thing.
Q2. If i have multiple gravestorm http://www.mtgvault.com/ViewCard_Popup.aspx?CardName=Gravestorm&Edition=ODY&Print=1 in play. Does that allow me to draw multiple cards per upkeep or does it only stack once? If so, lets say I go into upkeep and the opponent I am playing has NO cards in their graveyard and I have 3 gravestorm in play. Does that mean I can draw 3 cards because they cant discard any from their graveyard + my normal upkeep draw or does gravestorm negate my normal upkeep draw?
Q3. Giving a wall of souls 0/4, a defender card wither ability with an artifact equipment, does that cause it to deal damage to the toughness of the card? EVEN THOUGH it can't attack?
Q4. I need this card in my deck because of maybe having 4 gravestorm in play. Elixir of Immortality http://www.trollandtoad.com/pd3027917.html?associateid=97_1 - This will pretty much keep me from losing all my cards correct? unless I can't pay the cost of this artifact. I plan on keeping it in my hand and waiting to use it that way no destroy artifact spells will cause it to go to graveyard, but I have to be aware of the search opponents library spells and someone making me take it out of game. ANYWAY if i play it and the activation costs, THEN it gets destroyed. Does it still allow me to shuffle?
Q5.when do you pay the mana cost to Regenerate a creature that has been killed. Do you keep it tapped from your last upkeep and everything or you do it before you block with a creature..like before it gets destroyed. Maybe on your next upkeep after the creature you want to bring back is in the graveyard?
Q6. You can have multiple legendary lands in your deck but only one in play at a time right? Like two Urborg and if I discard a legendary land due to hand limit does that take them both out of the game or to the graveyard? The graveyard is sort of in play right?
Q7. Can you use Contaminated Ground http://www.mtgvault.com/ViewCard_Popup.aspx?CardName=Contaminated%20Ground&Edition=ROE&Print=1 on opponents land? Im guessing so...If so I need like two of these to keep my deck theme going =) Creature control and keeping battlefield clear!
Q8. Do planeswalkers only use the spells they have? They can not attack melee damage I guess. Also if someone attacks a planeswalker am I allowed to use MY creatures to protect? Planewalkers can't summon their own, so I am just wondering
Q9. When a card says shuffle your library. Do you only shuffle once or does it matter?
Q10. Does Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth turn ALL lands to swamps or just mine?
Q11. When using trample I know as an attacker the extra damage goes to your opponent. Is this the same if I block a creature that is a 2/2 with my 3/3 for some reason? Does 1 single point of damage because of trample hit the other player? What if my creature is a 4/4 attacking with double strike and i get blocked by a 4/4. Does 4 damage destroy the creature and the other 4 just vanish? Or does it go through to hit the player because the creature is damage. Or does it just do 8 points of damage overkill to that poor 4/4 creature?
Thanks for all your help and I will have more questions in the future. It is nice to have a place to ask questions finally. Im sorry about all my questions...I had only 7, but I keep thinking up things to add. I just want to make sure I play with the correct rules and regulations
- Kyle -
thedaringpastry
0 posts
Posted 22 July 2010 at 02:01
Permalink
11 replies
Login to post a comment
seras
59 posts
[QUOTE=thedaringpastry]
Q1. when a land like Leechridden Swamp comes into play tapped, does that mean the Black mana is in use already and I could be burned if not used, or does that mean it can't be used this turn. I also have Orzhov Basilica that does the same thing.
[/QUOTE]
no, coming into play tapped does not mean it comes in providing you with the mana. it comes into play tap specifically so that it cannot be used on it's first turn(normally).
btw: mana burn does not exist anymore, having left over mana at the end of a phase doesn't do anything negative, the mana simply evaporates.
[QUOTE=thedaringpastry]
Q2. If i have multiple gravestorm http://www.mtgvault.com/ViewCard_Popup.aspx?CardName=Gravestorm&Edition=ODY&Print=1 in play. Does that allow me to draw multiple cards per upkeep or does it only stack once? If so, lets say I go into upkeep and the opponent I am playing has NO cards in their graveyard and I have 3 gravestorm in play. Does that mean I can draw 3 cards because they cant discard any from their graveyard + my normal upkeep draw or does gravestorm negate my normal upkeep draw?
[/QUOTE]
the effect will trigger separately once for each copy of gravestorm you have in play. this means for each gravestorm the opponent will have to chose between exiling a card from his graveyard or letting you draw.
he would have to exile one card for each gravestorm to avoid you drawing any extra cards.
it is also separate from your normal draw.
[QUOTE=thedaringpastry]
Q3. Giving a wall of souls 0/4, a defender card wither ability with an artifact equipment, does that cause it to deal damage to the toughness of the card? EVEN THOUGH it can't attack?
[/QUOTE]
I'm sorry you'll have to clarify, I don't understand what you are trying to ask.
[QUOTE=thedaringpastry]
Q4. I need this card in my deck because of maybe having 4 gravestorm in play. Elixir of Immortality http://www.trollandtoad.com/pd3027917.html?associateid=97_1 - This will pretty much keep me from losing all my cards correct? unless I can't pay the cost of this artifact. I plan on keeping it in my hand and waiting to use it that way no destroy artifact spells will cause it to go to graveyard, but I have to be aware of the search opponents library spells and someone making me take it out of game. ANYWAY if i play it and the activation costs, THEN it gets destroyed. Does it still allow me to shuffle?
[/QUOTE]
I don't really see what interaction it has with gravestorm.. but yes, once you pay the activation cost( 2 colorless man and tapping the artifact), the ability goes on the stack and it will resolve even if the artifact is destroyed in reaction to it's ability being activated.
[QUOTE=thedaringpastry]
Q5.when do you pay the mana cost to Regenerate a creature that has been killed. Do you keep it tapped from your last upkeep and everything or you do it before you block with a creature..like before it gets destroyed. Maybe on your next upkeep after the creature you want to bring back is in the graveyard?
[/QUOTE]
you have to activate the regeneration ability before the creature is destroyed, usually after the Declare Blockers phase of combat but before the damage resolves. (you can also activate it as a reaction to a spell or even before the combat phase.)
regeneration happens instead of the creature going to the graveyard, once it's in the graveyard it can no longer be regenerated.
[QUOTE=thedaringpastry]
Q6. You can have multiple legendary lands in your deck but only one in play at a time right? Like two Urborg and if I discard a legendary land due to hand limit does that take them both out of the game or to the graveyard? The graveyard is sort of in play right?
[/QUOTE]
the graveyard is not "in play". "in play" is it's own specific zone (as opposed to your graveyard or your library), it has been renamed "the battlefield" in newer sets to be more precise.
the legendary rule only cares about what's in play, not what's in the graveyard.
[QUOTE=thedaringpastry]
Q7. Can you use Contaminated Ground http://www.mtgvault.com/ViewCard_Popup.aspx?CardName=Contaminated%20Ground&Edition=ROE&Print=1 on opponents land? Im guessing so...If so I need like two of these to keep my deck theme going =) Creature control and keeping battlefield clear!
[/QUOTE]
yes, you can target opponent's lands with it.
[QUOTE=thedaringpastry]
Q8. Do planeswalkers only use the spells they have? They can not attack melee damage I guess. Also if someone attacks a planeswalker am I allowed to use MY creatures to protect? Planewalkers can't summon their own, so I am just wondering
[/QUOTE]
planeswalkers cannot enter combat as they are not creatures. an opponent can attack one of your planeswalker instead of attacking you and yes, in that case your creatures can block them normally.
planeswalkers can only use their abilities. only one per turn and at sorcery speed.
[QUOTE=thedaringpastry]
Q9. When a card says shuffle your library. Do you only shuffle once or does it matter?
[/QUOTE]
you shuffle a sufficient amount to randomize your cards, don't take a long time but yes, more than "once".
[QUOTE=thedaringpastry]
Q10. Does Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth turn ALL lands to swamps or just mine?
[/QUOTE]
all lands in play
[QUOTE=thedaringpastry]
Q11. When using trample I know as an attacker the extra damage goes to your opponent. Is this the same if I block a creature that is a 2/2 with my 3/3 for some reason? Does 1 single point of damage because of trample hit the other player? What if my creature is a 4/4 attacking with double strike and i get blocked by a 4/4. Does 4 damage destroy the creature and the other 4 just vanish? Or does it go through to hit the player because the creature is damage. Or does it just do 8 points of damage overkill to that poor 4/4 creature?
[/QUOTE]
any damage over the toughness of the blocking creature is redirected to the player.
0
Posted 22 July 2010 at 03:36
Permalink
seras
59 posts
i also recommend you watch the "planeswalker's primer" videos on youtube, they explain a lot of the concepts very well.
ex: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2d55FQgut1E
0
Posted 22 July 2010 at 03:38
Permalink
thedaringpastry
0 posts
Q3. Giving a wall of souls 0/4, a defender card wither ability with an artifact equipment, does that cause it to deal damage to the toughness of the card? EVEN THOUGH it can't attack?
What I was trying to ask was if I have a defender creature. Say it's name is Wall of Souls and is an 0/4 wall card. I have an artifact equipment card that gives creatures wither ability. If i put that artifact card on my wall even though it has defender and can't attack. When it does block a creature say a 4/3 ground creature. will my wither ability deal damage to the 4/3 ground creature or will my wall just die?
0
Posted 22 July 2010 at 03:49
Permalink
thedaringpastry
0 posts
[QUOTE=Seras]i also recommend you watch the "planeswalker's primer" videos on youtube, they explain a lot of the concepts very well.
ex: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2d55FQgut1E[/QUOTE]
haha that's so ironic...I was on youtube watching these while I was waiting for a reply =) I got a few questions answered and need to redirect some rules to my friends about like multiple blockers and the person blocking picks order. Also how doublestrike works now..like two attack phases now.
0
Posted 22 July 2010 at 03:54
Permalink
seras
59 posts
wall of souls has zero power so it doesn't deal any combat damage when it blocks. even with the wither ability, it would add zero -1/-1 counter.
it something gave it extra power, casting a Giant's Growth for example, then it would deal 3 damage in the form of -1/-1 counters.
however, wall of souls' ability means that if it receives 4 combat damage, it would also deal 4 damage to your opponent. which means the player, not the creature that it just blocked
0
Posted 22 July 2010 at 03:55
Permalink
thedaringpastry
0 posts
[QUOTE=Seras]I don't really see what interaction it has with gravestorm.. but yes, once you pay the activation cost( 2 colorless man and tapping the artifact), the ability goes on the stack and it will resolve even if the artifact is destroyed in reaction to it's ability being activated.[/QUOTE]
OH! My thought is that having 4 gravestorm on the battlefield at once will make me run out of cards VERY fast if my opponent isn't able to keep his graveyard full. So I have to be able to shuffle my cards that i discarded to my graveyard due to having over 7 at the end of my turn back into my library. If not i'll run out and lose. Even with two gravestorm I could possibly draw 3 cards per upkeep and run out of card extra fast.
0
Posted 22 July 2010 at 03:58
Permalink
thedaringpastry
0 posts
[QUOTE=Seras]however, wall of souls' ability means that if it receives 4 combat damage, it would also deal 4 damage to your opponent. which means the player, not the creature that it just blocked[/QUOTE]
Oh, I know!!! That is the key reason I have 3 in my deck. They are my delay creatures. Even if they get dealt spell damage it goes directly to my opponent. Thanks for telling me about the mana burn rule. That makes this onoe card i ordered that gives every swamp you control an extra black mana seem worthwhile now. I think that is the effect of this card Im thinking of...
0
Posted 22 July 2010 at 04:01
Permalink
seras
59 posts
[QUOTE=thedaringpastry] Even if they get dealt spell damage it goes directly to my opponent. [/QUOTE]
no, it only triggers on combat damage
0
Posted 22 July 2010 at 12:40
Permalink
thedaringpastry
0 posts
ahhh, thanks for clearing that up as well. Now that I read the card closer it does say "combat" damage
0
Posted 23 July 2010 at 01:36
Permalink
varikeldun
4 posts
[QUOTE=thedaringpastry]Q3. Giving a wall of souls 0/4, a defender card wither ability with an artifact equipment, does that cause it to deal damage to the toughness of the card? EVEN THOUGH it can't attack?
What I was trying to ask was if I have a defender creature. Say it's name is Wall of Souls and is an 0/4 wall card. I have an artifact equipment card that gives creatures wither ability. If i put that artifact card on my wall even though it has defender and can't attack. When it does block a creature say a 4/3 ground creature. will my wither ability deal damage to the 4/3 ground creature or will my wall just die?[/QUOTE]
ok so you have.
http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?multiverseid=5269 - Wall of Souls
and the only artifact equipment with wither i could find.
http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?multiverseid=129135 - Blight Sickle
now you have the blight sickle attached to the wall of souls
wall of souls goes from a 0/4 to a 1/4
a 4/3 comes and attacks you
you defend with wall of souls
wall of souls takes 4 damage and dies
the 4/3 attacker takes 1 damage which is converted into -1/-1 so it becomes a 3/2
target opponet (doesnt have to be the attackers controler) takes 4 damage from the walls ability
0
Posted 04 August 2010 at 16:59
Permalink
MaiShaga
1 post
never mind
0
Posted 25 August 2010 at 13:46
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!