Discussion Forum

A few questions.

1. Let`s say my opponent has a Darksteel Colossus in play, i attack my opponent with my 7/7 creature, he blocks it with his Colossus, meaning the colossus`es P/T will be both reduced to 4/4 until end of my turn. Now here`s the question - If i use Guul Draz Assassin`s ability when he`s at level 4, to give the colossus -4/-4, does the colossus die? It`s said that damage and destroy effects can`t kill him, so even if i hit him with another 11/11 colossus, both would live, but once i use Guul Draz A. ability, what would happen, since it`s not damage and neither is it a destroy effect?

2. If i have Platinum Angel in play and i use any reanimator card to put Phage the Untouchable from my graveyard to play, do i lose the game because of Phage`s first ability, or does P. Angels and Phages effects cancel each other out?

3. Nezumi Graverobber When he comes into play ad my only opponent has no cards in his graveyard, do i flip him, or do i have to use his ability? If i use Nezumi Graverobbers ability to remove the only one card from my one opponents graveyard from the game, do i flip N.G. or do i have to use the ability once more?

Thank you kindly.
Posted 26 July 2010 at 14:00

Permalink

1. Hitting a creature does not lower it's P/T, so if you it Colossus with a 7/7 it's still an 11/11 it just remembers 7 damage until end of turn. If you could give it -11/-11 somehow (profane command for instance) that would kill it.

2. I think you would stay alive

3. Nezumi Graverobber has to remove a card for it to flip. if an opponts graveyard is empty you have to wait until there are cards in there before you can activate NG and flip it. Removing the last card is enough to flip it, you do not have to activate it an additional time. So if there is one card in an opponents graveyard activating NG once flips it.
0
Posted 26 July 2010 at 14:30

Permalink

Okay, thank you Seth, the 2nd question is still up for debate.

Next question.
4. My opponent has a Darksteel Colossus, with a -1/-1 counter on it and I have a Necroskitter in play. I manage to -10/-10 the Colossus, so he dies, but what exactly happens next; does the Colossus get shuffled into his owners library or does he come under my control? Is it so that the active player takes priority? If for example it was a 3 player multiplayer, one of my opponents have the Colossus and the other - Necroskitter, i do the finishing blow on Colossus, which of the effects takes priority, the shuffle into it`s owners library or does it come under Nekroskitters controllers control?
0
Posted 26 July 2010 at 15:13

Permalink

for number 2: you don't lose, platinum angel's ability replaces any "you lose the game" effect, the source doesn't matter.

same for number 4: Darksteel Colossus's effect is a replacement effect, it happens instead of going to the graveyard, so necroskitter's ability never triggers
0
Posted 26 July 2010 at 17:39

Permalink

Okay, good so far.

5. I have Platinum Angel and 2 Bitterblossom in play, and 1 life. On my upkeep Bitterblossom`s effect triggers and together i lose 2 life. Does my life total become -1 or does it stay 0? What happens to Death's Shadow if my life total is below 0 (if that`s possible)? And if i would gain 2 life from any source, would it add 2+0 or 2+(-1)? A more drastic example, i`ve been dealt 31 damage, would my life total be -30 or 0 also? For if i would gain 2 life in that case it wouldn`t save me if P. Angel would get destroyed and my life would be negative. Otherwise my life total, despite my opponents efforts to damage me so much would be in vain and i`d be left with 2 life.
0
Posted 26 July 2010 at 18:13

Permalink

yes, you life total can go into negative values.

http://www.magiccards.info/wwk/en/57.html

the rulings on Death's Shadow explain how it is affected by a negative life total
0
Posted 26 July 2010 at 18:30

Permalink

That`s impressive!
Thank you.
0
Posted 26 July 2010 at 18:43

Permalink

The only possible thing to do about platinum angel's effects (while it's alive, obviously) is to give that person an abyssal persecutor at which point he can't win OR lose the game as long as they're both alive.
0
Posted 27 July 2010 at 02:01

Permalink

Lol, that`s interesting, they should cancel each other out imo.

Anyway,
6. Suspend. I have Jhoira of the Ghitu in play and i use her ability to Suspend 4 a Cruel Ultimatum. On the 4th turn after i suspended it, i play the Ultimatum without paying its manacost, what happens after the spells effect has taken place, do i exile the card, does it go into my graveyard or does the spell regain another Suspend 4? What happens to creatures in this case, if i use Jhoira to Suspend 4 them? They come into play with haste, but after that turn is over, does the creature stay in play or do i remove it from the game with another Suspend 4 ability?
0
Posted 27 July 2010 at 17:42

Permalink

The Cruel Ultimatum goes to the graveyard as usual.

her ability only adds the suspend ability until the time counters are all removed and the spell resolves.

permanents stay in play, instants and sorceries go to the graveyard.
0
Posted 27 July 2010 at 18:16

Permalink

Ping-pong.

7. I have Endless Whispers and Lethal Vapors in play. I`m casting a creature spell - it comes into play, whatever it`s triggered effects are they trigger and the creature goes to graveyard due to Lethal Vapors. Eternal Whispers forces me to choose an opponent and at the end of my turn he gets the creature that just went to my graveyard. It`s effects trigger and it goes back to my graveyard. Now here`s the question will the creature bounce back and forth from one player back to me and onto another player, because it all happens during the end of my turn? Or will Eternal Whispers only work once that turn?
Also about Lethal Vapors 2nd ability, When i play that creature can my opponent destroy Lethal Vapors with it`s ability or do my actions take priority?
0
Posted 01 August 2010 at 08:17

Permalink

Ping ^^
Can anyone give an answer on the last question?
0
Posted 04 August 2010 at 06:02

Permalink

only looked at it quickly but my first impression is that this creates an infinite loop and results in a draw if nothing interrupts it's flow.
0
Posted 04 August 2010 at 17:05

Permalink

Yep, looks like a game stall until someone agrees to skip a turn to me.
0
Posted 04 August 2010 at 22:44

Permalink

Yup, that's what it be.
0
Posted 17 August 2010 at 05:46

Permalink

Yosh! That`s clear, but what about the other thing i mentioned, i`ll rephrase that: When i have Lethal Vapors in play and i cast the creature spell, i assume that while the creature is still on stack, my opponents may use Lethal Vapors ability to destroy it, correct?
0
Posted 19 August 2010 at 19:14

Permalink

Okay, here`s another question, do multicolored spells, for example Thraximundar count as all Black, Red, Blue or does it count as Gold? I know it`s a stupid question, but here`s the reason why, NIGHTSCAPE FAMILIAR - Will his ability take effect to play Thraximundar for 2 mana cheaper?
0
Posted 20 August 2010 at 19:58

Permalink

the colour of a spell is based on the colours in it's cost, nothing else (there's no such thing as "gold" when it comes to magic colours)

regardless, Nightscape Familiar's ability will only reduce the cost by 1, as per the ruling for it http://magiccards.info/ps/en/48.html
0
Posted 20 August 2010 at 20:05

Permalink

[QUOTE=KuroRyuuD]Yosh! That`s clear, but what about the other thing i mentioned, i`ll rephrase that: When i have Lethal Vapors in play and i cast the creature spell, i assume that while the creature is still on stack, my opponents may use Lethal Vapors ability to destroy it, correct?[/QUOTE]

If you're referring to using Vapors' own ability to destroy itself then yes, that's perfectly legal.
0
Posted 21 August 2010 at 00:04

Permalink