Discussion Forum

Liliana Vess?

and other cards of the same. I am new to the newer expansions and such. can someone please help me understand the rules of this card. does the minus (-) signs mean you drop that amount of life or what? eheheheh thanks in advance for all help in understanding these cards.
Posted 07 August 2010 at 21:56

Permalink

Here is the rules: http://www.wizards.com/Magic/TCG/Article.aspx?x=magic/rules/planeswalkers

Here is my explanation with some examples in it as well.

I'll use liliana vess as the example. She comes into play with 5 loyalty counters and abilities are: +1 Target player discards a card. -2 Search your library for a card, then shuffle your library and put that card on top of it. -8 Put all creature cards in all graveyards into play under your control

The planeswalker comes into play with loyalty counters on it = to the number in the bottom right of the card. This card is a permanent that basically counts as a player.

You can only use one of the abilities of the planeswalker per turn. So the first time you use her ability you would have a player discard a card and add 1 loyalty counter to liliana Or Search your library for a card, then shuffle your library and put that card on top of it and remove 2 loyalty counters from liliana.

Anything that could target a player can also target a planeswalker.Such as your opponent casts shock on your planeswalker then the planeswalker loses 2 loyalty counters.

A player chooses wether to attack you or the planeswalker. If they choose to attack the planeswalker with a 1/1 2/2 and 4/4 you may choose to block those creatures with yours. Say you block all the damage except the 1/1 then you would remove 1 loyalty counter from liliana.

If a planeswalkers ever has no loyalty counters it is put in it's owners graveyard.

Hope that helped.
If you have any other question just ask
0
Posted 08 August 2010 at 03:44

Permalink

If 2 Planeswalkers with the same planeswalker type, like 1 Jace Beleren and 1 Jace the Mindsculptor, whose types are both Jace, are in play, you could say that, the Legend rule applies and they are both destroyed.

Just adding to the above stated.
0
Posted 08 August 2010 at 10:46

Permalink

thank you gentlemen, you both have helped tons. I wont be so nervouse about using her from now on.. thanks again.
0
Posted 09 August 2010 at 20:14

Permalink

[QUOTE=KuroRyuuD]If 2 Planeswalkers with the same planeswalker type, like 1 Jace Beleren and 1 Jace the Mindsculptor, whose types are both Jace, are in play, you could say that, the Legend rule applies and they are both destroyed.

Just adding to the above stated.[/QUOTE]

Planeswalker rule is seperate from the Legend rule since you have cards like Nicol Bolas the elder dragon and Nicol Bolas the planeswalker.

Also with casting bolts and whatnot at the planeswalker what really happens is you cast it at them and ask if it resolves and THEN you choose whether to redirect or not. Most people dont do it that way in casuals but if you're ever playing seriously it's a major difference since it basically leaves the guy guessing whether you're going to hit his planeswalker or him.

[edit]

P.s. Check graveyards for Phage before you drop her last. If people you play with know you use her regularly they might start using insurance if you play formats where he's legal.
0
Posted 10 August 2010 at 00:30

Permalink

[QUOTE=Shadowex3]Planeswalker rule is seperate from the Legend rule since you have cards like Nicol Bolas the elder dragon and Nicol Bolas the planeswalker.[/QUOTE]

That`s why i said the Planeswalker type, by the aftereffects it`s still similar to the legend rule.
0
Posted 10 August 2010 at 15:53

Permalink