Discussion Forum

Counter question please help

I need help with the creature card "Spellbreaker Behemoth". It is printed on the card, "Spellbreaker Behemoth can't be countered." During a game my friend insisted that the spell card "Cancel", is still effective on the Behemoth since he is still a spell.

Does this mean Spellbreaker Behemoth can be countered when it first comes into play as a spell?
Posted 11 August 2010 at 02:32

Permalink

When else WOULD you counter it?
0
Posted 11 August 2010 at 03:02

Permalink

Does this mean my friend was trolling me? And the behemoth is immune to counters as I had thought?
0
Posted 11 August 2010 at 03:13

Permalink

Yeah. Your friend's wrong. You can counter a spell when it's on the stack, if something says it can't be countered then it can't be countered. Spellbreaker Behemoth is still Spellbreaker Behemoth even when it's a spell, that's the name of it.
0
Posted 11 August 2010 at 03:16

Permalink

Thanks a lot for the replies.
0
Posted 11 August 2010 at 03:17

Permalink

My friend said he was confused because of this information from wikipedia:

"Some cards specify that they "cannot be countered by spells or abilities." This only prevents the explicit method of countering spells; such a spell can still be countered by the game rules."

Can someone translate this to me? What in the world is an explicit method?
0
Posted 11 August 2010 at 03:47

Permalink

Yeah he's just trying to BS you now. Countered by the game rules means what you're trying to do became suddenly illegal, like trying to enchant a creature that doesn't exist anymore or similar situations where the game rules (or a card) say "You can't do that".
0
Posted 11 August 2010 at 03:50

Permalink

Oh i see, alright thanks again man
0
Posted 11 August 2010 at 03:52

Permalink