Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
Question on Combat Damage
I have a question on combat damage; lets say I have a 5/5 creature with lure on it. My opponent has a 5/4 creature, and a couple of 1/1 creatures. Does combat damage happen all at once and his whole army gets wiped by my 5/5 creature? Or does combat damage happen in steps, thus my 5/5 creature gets killed by his 5/4 creature, ending combat?
Berloin
0 posts
Posted 20 August 2010 at 07:11
Permalink
6 replies
Login to post a comment
kuroryuud
9 posts
EDIT
Danokozmo is correct, sorry.
Edit2
No he wasnt, i was.
0
Posted 20 August 2010 at 13:24
Permalink
Danokozmo
17 posts
Actually, the defender declares the order in which his creatures are blocking. So, his 1/1 could block, the another 1/1, the his 5/4. his 5/4 wouldn't die, but your 5/5 would.
0
Posted 20 August 2010 at 14:09
Permalink
Berloin
0 posts
Thanks for the replies.
Yea I am really confused because I heard so many different things.
I also heard that the attacker gets to choose the order in which he will kill the blocking creatures? So I guess this is false?
0
Posted 20 August 2010 at 18:10
Permalink
Shadowex3
2 posts
I think that's deathtouchers.
0
Posted 20 August 2010 at 21:09
Permalink
NoteworthyPlaysDecks
0 posts
Actually new combat rules state that the attacker assigns what order and how much damage will be dealt to blocking creatures. So, if I had a 6/6 attack and it was blocked by a 1/1, a 2/2, and a 3/3, then I could choose the order of damage and how much to each one. That happens during the combat damage step.
0
Posted 21 August 2010 at 00:06
Permalink
Berloin
0 posts
Oh i see, thanks for clearing it up for me Loki.
0
Posted 21 August 2010 at 08:16
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!