Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
Discard question.
I have a question about the card blightning,
If the target player only has two cards in his/her hand, can I play it?
Because someone said that wasn't allowed, since I couldn't use the full effect.
MaiShaga
1 post
Posted 25 August 2010 at 13:25
Permalink
4 replies
Login to post a comment
Danokozmo
17 posts
Yuo can play blightning even if the player has no cards in hand. It does not matter how many cards your opponent has in hand.
0
Posted 25 August 2010 at 14:14
Permalink
MaiShaga
1 post
Yeah, thats what I thought, but I am kinda new to magic, so I wasn't sure,
my opponent had 1 card in his hand *I might have said 2 just now* but I was told, by someone who plays magic more frequently, and has a better understanding of the rules than me.
So if I would have played it, he should have discarded the one card after getting 3 damage?
0
Posted 25 August 2010 at 14:19
Permalink
Danokozmo
17 posts
es, that is correct.
0
Posted 25 August 2010 at 14:26
Permalink
scumbling1
58 posts
Notice how Blightning only specifies one target: an opponent. So long as you are able to target an opponent, you can cast your Blightning. Older discard effects used to say that the opponent just discards whatever they have if they don't have the total amount of cards in hand specified (eg. Ice Age Mind Warp), but now it's been put into the rules and no longer is needed to be printed in the text.
0
Posted 27 August 2010 at 03:43
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!