Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
Blocking rule situation (happened with friend)
I was playing a friend at work today and I had like 4 creatures on my side and he had 4 creatures on his side. I had three black mana on the board and pulled out 2 dark rituals and tapped one mana to get my phage the untouchable out. Well next turn I decide to attack because he HAS to block or he will lose the game. He blocks me with a 2/4 and a 2/2 (i think) but the fact of the matter is my card if dealing any damage to a creature kills that card. he decided to block with both and thinking it was going to let one of his creatures live.
What im trying to ask is, after I attack, he assigns blockers, I am the one that assigns how the damage is distributed right? I know MY creature will die because it was being hit by 4, but I only had to assign one point of damage to each creature to kill it due to it's death touch/banish effect. Tell me if I'm right here..I do't just deal all my damage to one creature? I have the right to pick
thedaringpastry
0 posts
Posted 28 August 2010 at 04:21
Permalink
7 replies
Login to post a comment
mcmurray26
3 posts
From my understanding you assign dmg, but I'm pretty sure the first hit has to be lethal damage before you can hit the other creature(s) blocking. So if you would choose to hit the 2/2 first for 2 damage and then the 2/4 for 2 as well it would kill both of tohse creatures and yours.
0
Posted 28 August 2010 at 04:26
Permalink
thedaringpastry
0 posts
That is what I am trying to ask. My friend says all my damage even if it is over kill is dealt to one creature, but in the case tonight he had a 2/2 and like a 2/3. I know my creature dies, but since I have phage don't I only have to ting each of his creatures for one point of damage or does he just assign blockers and I just deal damage too what the first creature wouldn't block. like 2 points to the 2/2 and 2 to the 2/3, but still killing it due to death touch
ALSO - while I am asking my friend had shroud on a creature and it was protect from spells or abilities. Are these just ACTIVATED ones or anything that is special text in the box below the creature, like death touch and all that fall in that abilities area even though they aren't activated.
I watched the planeswalker primer video for death touch. So i declare attacker, he declares blocker(s) and I assign what order I want to deal my damage in. With deathtouch though, I only have to assign one point of damage to each.
0
Posted 28 August 2010 at 04:37
Permalink
mcmurray26
3 posts
510.1c A blocked creature assigns its combat damage to the creatures blocking it. If no creatures are currently blocking it (if, for example, they were destroyed or removed from combat), it assigns no combat damage. If exactly one creature is blocking it, it assigns all its combat damage to that creature. If two or more creatures are blocking it, it assigns its combat damage to those creatures according to the damage assignment order announced for it. This may allow the blocked creature to divide its combat damage. However, it can't assign combat damage to a creature that's blocking it unless each creature that precedes that blocking creature in its order is assigned lethal damage. When checking for assigned lethal damage, take into account damage already marked on the creature and damage from other creatures that's being assigned during the same combat damage step, but not any abilities or effects that might change the amount of damage that's actually dealt. An amount of damage that's greater than a creature's lethal damage may be assigned to it.
Example: The damage assignment order of an attacking Craw Wurm (a 6/4 creature) is Wall of Wood (a 0/3 creature) then Eager Cadet (a 1/1 creature). Craw Wurm can assign 3 damage to the Wall and 3 damage to the Cadet, 4 damage to the Wall and 2 damage to the Cadet, 5 damage to the Wall and 1 damage to the Cadet, or 6 damage to the Wall.
Example: The damage assignment order of an attacking Craw Wurm (a 6/4 creature) is Wall of Wood (a 0/3 creature) then Eager Cadet (a 1/1 creature). During the declare blockers step, the defending player casts Giant Growth targeting Wall of Wood, which gives it +3/+3 until end of turn. Craw Wurm must assign its 6 damage to the Wall.
Example: The damage assignment order of an attacking Craw Wurm (a 6/4 creature) is Wall of Wood (a 0/3 creature) then Eager Cadet (a 1/1 creature). During the declare blockers step, the defending player casts Mending Hands targeting Wall of Wood, which prevents the next 4 damage that would be dealt to it. Craw Wurm can assign 3 damage to the Wall and 3 damage to the Cadet, 4 damage to the Wall and 2 damage to the Cadet, 5 damage to the Wall and 1 damage to the Cadet, or 6 damage to the Wall.
So you assign the order in which you will hit the opposing players blocking creatures. if the first creature you choose to block is a 3/3 you must do 3 damage to it. If they cast giant growth and it is now a 6/6 you must deal 6 damage to it before you can assign damage to other creatures.
Now though if you are attacking with phage and say your opponent blocks with a 2/2 3/3 and a 4/4 you could choose to do 2 damage to the 2/2 1 damage to the 3/3 and 1 damage to the 4/4 and it would kill all 3 of his creatures and your phage.
702.16a Shroud is a static ability. "Shroud" means "This permanent or player can't be the target of spells or abilities."
Shroud only protects it from spells that target it such as diminish or unsummon. Deathtouch does not target the creature so shroud vs deathtouch, deathtouch wins.
Shroud confused me for the longest time lol, but it only protects from targeting spells, but cards such as wrath of god, day of judgment, or damnation do not target any creatures.
0
Posted 28 August 2010 at 15:23
Permalink
Shadowex3
2 posts
Think of shroud as being invisible and utterly silent. In the battlefield nobody has any clue where you are and they can't hit you with anything. Now if they just drop napalm on the whole battlefield on the other hand...
0
Posted 28 August 2010 at 20:59
Permalink
thedaringpastry
0 posts
[QUOTE=Shadowex3]Think of shroud as being invisible and utterly silent. In the battlefield nobody has any clue where you are and they can't hit you with anything. Now if they just drop napalm on the whole battlefield on the other hand...[/QUOTE]
Good analogy!!! That makes sense. So lifelink, death touch and any other normal card abilities that do not have to be activated win vs shroud or at least come into effect due to not being ACTIVATED abilities. I see... Yeah, that's why I am going to love crypt rats with death touch and lifelink :) no person can hide. It will be like a wrath of god pretty much! I wont see that other guy until monday and I need to make him watch the planeswalker primer for 2010 magic on youtube showcasing the new rules and that will clear a lot more up. Thanks for all the replies.
0
Posted 28 August 2010 at 23:15
Permalink
thedaringpastry
0 posts
[QUOTE=mcmurray26] wrath of god, day of judgment, or damnation do not target any creatures.[/QUOTE]
That's why I had a couple of those in my white/black deck, but now I am going to go all black and damnation is an expensive card to buy 14-20 dollars lol. Uhg! Crazy
0
Posted 28 August 2010 at 23:18
Permalink
Shadowex3
2 posts
[QUOTE=thedaringpastry]Good analogy!!! That makes sense. So lifelink, death touch and any other normal card abilities that do not have to be activated win vs shroud or at least come into effect due to not being ACTIVATED abilities. I see... Yeah, that's why I am going to love crypt rats with death touch and lifelink :) no person can hide. It will be like a wrath of god pretty much! I wont see that other guy until monday and I need to make him watch the planeswalker primer for 2010 magic on youtube showcasing the new rules and that will clear a lot more up. Thanks for all the replies.[/QUOTE]
No, because there are plenty of "Screw EVERYTHING" activated abilities like Magus of the Disk. Shroud stops targetting.
0
Posted 29 August 2010 at 06:59
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!