Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
Removal effects
Oblivion Ring removes from play a permanent it enchants so that only the enchantment remains in play. If a creature has an artifact (equipment) attached to it, does the artifact leave play also, but remain out of play or does the equipment fall off as the creature leaves play? I know that when an equipped creature is destroyed, takes lethal damage, etc. that the piece of equipment remains in play so that it can be equipped to a different/another creature once in play.
goblinguide
55 posts
Posted 30 August 2010 at 03:01
Permalink
6 replies
Login to post a comment
thedaringpastry
0 posts
Im learning so I want to take a crack at it before someone gives the correct answer. I think that when the creature leaves play it leaves behind the artifact just like always until the oblivion ring is destroyed. Once the creature comes back in play you have to equip the equipment again. That's my most educated guess since artifact equipment states when a creature leaves play it stays in play.
Also I need to know the answer to this, because my friend plays white/blue and uses a card path of the exile or something and makes my creatures sit out of game because I don't have an enchant killer card. I also use a lot of artifact equipment.
0
Posted 30 August 2010 at 03:14
Permalink
NoteworthyPlaysDecks
0 posts
thedaringpastry: You are correct sir, that's how it works. One thing to clarify though goblinguide, Oblivion Ring never technically enchants anything, it's not an aura. It's got a enter the battlefield triggered ability that exiles something, and another triggered ability that returns it if O-Ring goes away.
0
Posted 30 August 2010 at 03:19
Permalink
goblinguide
55 posts
That is an important distinction - it doesn't target when announced from hand "cast" so your opponent has to decide whether or not to counter it before it resolves and comes into play. As it comes into play then if not countered as it comes into play its triggered ability now has you select a target. So equipment falls off of permanents they are attached to if that permanent is removed from play.
0
Posted 30 August 2010 at 04:06
Permalink
seras
59 posts
on this topic, one thing i've never been 100% on is auras attached to an exiled creature.. they fall off and hit the graveyard, correct?
0
Posted 30 August 2010 at 13:08
Permalink
NoteworthyPlaysDecks
0 posts
That is correct, they die to do being all alone. Auras are very needy.
0
Posted 31 August 2010 at 02:51
Permalink
Shadowex3
2 posts
Clingy bitch.
0
Posted 31 August 2010 at 05:05
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!