Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
Rite of Consumption Question
Whatever the sacrificed creature's power is when I use this card, even if I add +1/+1 for each B tapped and have an artifact equipment card on the creature, does that all work toward the consumption? Like I have a 1/1 creature with add +1/+1 for each B tapped activated ability + an artifact card on it giving it more power. instead of 1/1 it ends up being a 12/12 at the end of the turn I use the rite of consumption. Is that a 1/1 or if it gets up to a 50/50, whatever it is when I take it out of play is what it deals to the player.
Nantuko Shade tap mana for ability +Empyrial Plate + Rite of Consumption = massive damage.
My deck is going to be based a lot on keeping cards in my hand and the crypt rats/scythe of wretched/basilsk collar and/or quietous spike. Sorry for bad spelling i was in a hurry at the bottom
thedaringpastry
0 posts
Posted 30 August 2010 at 05:15
Permalink
8 replies
Login to post a comment
NoteworthyPlaysDecks
0 posts
The rite will count whatever its current power is, not its normal power. So yeah, you could pump shade to unreasonable levels, equip something to it, then sac it to Rite for Massive Damage.
0
Posted 30 August 2010 at 05:39
Permalink
thedaringpastry
0 posts
While I am on this subject of the rite of consumption. When using rite of consumption on something with regeneration, like a drudge skeleton, can you tap a land to activate his ability and bring him back into the game after a sacrifice is made? I really need to know, because that could be sick and just plain dirty.
I mean state that you are tapping a land to bring him back BEFORE you play the rite of consumption. You know what I'm getting at here. Pay to make him come back, deal the damage through the spell, and magically return lol
0
Posted 30 August 2010 at 23:09
Permalink
seras
59 posts
you cannot regenerate a sacrificed creature, ever.
0
Posted 31 August 2010 at 02:07
Permalink
thedaringpastry
0 posts
ahhhh ok ty
0
Posted 31 August 2010 at 02:31
Permalink
NoteworthyPlaysDecks
0 posts
Regenerate specifically replaces stuff that would destroy the creature, so exiling or sacrificing the creature prevents it from regenerating. Well, it can activate its ability to regenerate, it just won't do anything.
0
Posted 31 August 2010 at 02:54
Permalink
thedaringpastry
0 posts
well, you said something about sacrificing and exiling they can't regenerate. That just means they go to the graveyard when talking about sacrificing right? Or are they completely OUT of the game? I seem to be drawn to Elixir of Immortality to get my cards back into my deck plus it gives you 5 life, low cost to play, AND it gets shuffled back in.
My guess is though that sacrificing is just going to the graveyard, but in doing so their abilities are shot after the sacrifice.
0
Posted 31 August 2010 at 04:42
Permalink
NoteworthyPlaysDecks
0 posts
yes? I don't know what 'abilities are shot' means, but sacrificed creatures go to the graveyard.
0
Posted 31 August 2010 at 05:52
Permalink
scumbling1
58 posts
Yeah, sacrificed cards go to the graveyard. They can't be regenerated, and abilities like Indestructable don't help either. However, once they're in the graveyard they can be reshuffled like any other card via Elixir of Immortality. Sacrifice modifies the way a creature goes to the grave, but it doesn't modify the way it occupies the grave.
0
Posted 01 September 2010 at 02:18
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!