Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
Damage dealing steps - First strike, etc.
The new rules resolve combat damage immediately - does not go on a stack like abilities and spells, etc.
In the old days after creatures dealt their damage you could respond with an instant like Boomerang and return your creature to your hand before the combat damage resolved - so the damage simply fizzled. I always felt, however, that if your creature didn't absorb the damage, just like if you duck whatever is behind you gets shot, so I always felt the damage should go through to the Wizard, but MtG ruled that once a creature was declared blocked, regardless of how large the creature was and unless it had trample, no damage made it to the Wizard.
Instead of allowing the damage to go through to the Wizard if the blocking creature was removed, Wizards decided to resolve damage immediately and allow no step to cast spells except unless the damage step triggered an ability which sets up a stack and an opportunity for both players to add to the stack.
Having said all that, when a creature has first strike, if it attacks with other creatures and there are blockers, can players play instants and abilities between the first strike assignment/resolution and the regular combat damage step?
goblinguide
55 posts
Posted 31 August 2010 at 02:26
Permalink
2 replies
Login to post a comment
goblinguide
55 posts
When a planes walker is in play and a player attacks with a creature with double strike, does the player get to decide twice where damage goes? First he or she announces whether or not first strike damage goes - player or a planes walker. Can damage be divided between planes walkers if there are two in play? After first strike damage resolves depending on whether the attacker is blocked, etc. can the player choose how the regular combat damage is dealt - to the player or planeswalker, or does both steps of combat damage have to be decided when the creature is declared an attacker?
0
Posted 31 August 2010 at 02:32
Permalink
NoteworthyPlaysDecks
0 posts
The creature itself is specifically attacking one object, the player or one of his planeswalkers. Double-strike doesn't change that. Having said that, you can play instants and abilities between the first-strike damage step and the regular damage step.
0
Posted 31 August 2010 at 02:56
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!