Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
some questions
First, if my opponent plays a card that says; destroy target creature, gain x life. And I play plaxmanta, so my creatures cannot be targetted, does my opp still get the life? Or say if I destroy my own creature?
Can I still play activated abilities when a creature is tapped? If it does not include tapping the card?
I forgot the cards name..plague something says; if this card is destroyed it deals 1 damage to every ceature on the battlefield.Does that destroy my slippery bogle?
And in double headed giant (if it was called that... anyways the new multiplayer) can my team mate taget my slippery bogle?
I just want to double check some of these things...
LexustheGreat
3 posts
Posted 02 September 2010 at 10:03
Permalink
4 replies
Login to post a comment
Setherial
349 posts
[QUOTE=Lexusthegreat]First, if my opponent plays a card that says; destroy target creature, gain x life. And I play plaxmanta, so my creatures cannot be targetted, does my opp still get the life? Or say if I destroy my own creature?
[/QUOTE]
The spell fails because of an illegal target. he does not gain life. If the comma was a point then he would have gained life. The comma basically says the entire sentence either succeeds or not.
[QUOTE]
Can I still play activated abilities when a creature is tapped? If it does not include tapping the card?
[/QUOTE]
yes
[QUOTE]
I forgot the cards name..plague something says; if this card is destroyed it deals 1 damage to every ceature on the battlefield.Does that destroy my slippery bogle?
[/QUOTE]
yes
[QUOTE]
And in double headed giant (if it was called that... anyways the new multiplayer) can my team mate taget my slippery bogle?
[/QUOTE]
it's two headed giant and your team mate is not an opponent so he can target your slippery bogle
0
Posted 02 September 2010 at 10:56
Permalink
LexustheGreat
3 posts
@Seth thanks that clears things up!
0
Posted 02 September 2010 at 11:50
Permalink
NoteworthyPlaysDecks
0 posts
Hangon Seth. Comma or period, if the spell's only target is illegal, the whole thing is countered. If it said like 'Destroy target creature. Target player gains X life." Then that would work. But, comma or period, that spell is countered by the game rules.
0
Posted 02 September 2010 at 14:27
Permalink
Setherial
349 posts
I stand corrected :)
0
Posted 02 September 2010 at 14:36
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!