Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
What can target a protected creature?
Say I have a Paladin-en-Vec, a 2/2 first strike knight, with protection red and black.
Now, I know it is protected from all direct target spells (say for instance terror, shock,...) but can still suffer indirectly from black spells like Diabolic Edict, Grave Pact,...
Say for instance that my opponent plays a flamewave (7 mana spell that does 4 damage to all players and creatures in play), does my 2/2 knight get that damage or is it also reduced to 0 because of the protection red?
Any general rules on this?
Thanks in advance!
zieveraar
0 posts
Posted 03 September 2010 at 11:46
Permalink
10 replies
Login to post a comment
kuroryuud
9 posts
Protection from X just doesn`t allow the permanent to get targeted by the X colored spell or recieve damage from or become blocked by the X colored creature. World spells like Pyroclasm, Earthquake, Damnation still affect the creature, because it doesn`t get targeted. Also if a X colored spell/creature forces you to sacrifice a creature, you may sacrifice the creature with protection from color X, because the spell doesn`t target the creature, but you.
0
Posted 03 September 2010 at 12:14
Permalink
zieveraar
0 posts
[QUOTE=KuroRyuuD]Protection from X just doesn`t allow the permanent to get targeted by the X colored spell or recieve damage from or become blocked by the X colored creature. World spells like Pyroclasm, Earthquake, Damnation still affect the creature, because it doesn`t get targeted. Also if a X colored spell/creature forces you to sacrifice a creature, you may sacrifice the creature with protection from color X, because the spell doesn`t target the creature, but you.[/QUOTE]
Aah, so my paladin could get killed by red damage, as long as it's a world spell, not a direct damage spell.
Thanks for the info!
0
Posted 03 September 2010 at 14:31
Permalink
Danokozmo
17 posts
Actually, protection is DEBT, Damage, Effects, Blocking, and Targeting, so your paladin would not take damage. However, if Damnation was cast, your paladin would be dead.
0
Posted 03 September 2010 at 15:12
Permalink
kuroryuud
9 posts
^ hmm, always thought that world damage spells also affect creatures with protection, ok, thanks also.
0
Posted 03 September 2010 at 15:48
Permalink
thedaringpastry
0 posts
OMG you guys wont believe this but I know what else targets a protected creature.. =(
The daughter of a friend of my mom. Let me explain... I was messing around with my cards doing draw samples and I had them laid out since yesterday by my computer. Well I "had" a needle specter with a whispersilk cloak on it. I came home to find out she was on my computer playing games and my specter was torn in two.
So that is something else that can kill any protected creature :( I found this ironic, because I read the posts and see this one. I start kind of laughing, but in a sad manner. Sigh.... at least it wasnt the nantuko shade or my basilisk collar I just got in or even my 3 wrath of gods I had laying a little higher by my monitor..geez
0
Posted 03 September 2010 at 22:52
Permalink
scumbling1
58 posts
Torn in two? That's above and beyond a general disregard; that's a display of malice! Did you check under your covers for a horse's head?
0
Posted 04 September 2010 at 02:54
Permalink
Shadowex3
2 posts
Simple solution, does the girl get an allowance?
0
Posted 04 September 2010 at 03:33
Permalink
thedaringpastry
0 posts
she is six lol Nope
0
Posted 06 September 2010 at 23:48
Permalink
Setherial
349 posts
[QUOTE=KuroRyuuD]^ hmm, always thought that world damage spells also affect creatures with protection, ok, thanks also.[/QUOTE]
World spells don't target so you've bypast that but if a creature with protection from red gets damage from a red source indirectly it's still damage from a red source from which it is protected. So pyroclasm would not work. The reason damnation works is because protection doesn't protect against destruction so the color of the source does not matter.
0
Posted 07 September 2010 at 08:19
Permalink
zieveraar
0 posts
That makes perfect sense, thanks for the info Seth!
And I'm sorry to hear about your needle spectre thedaringpastry, a sad way to go for the card! :D
0
Posted 08 September 2010 at 06:50
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!