Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
Doublestrike
Hmmmm,
If I block with a creature that has double strike and the creature it blocked receives lethal damage from the first strike damage, after it is placed in the graveyard, does the regular damage deal damage to my opponent as it does when attacking? I'm a Goblin and its hard to remember everything, like sometimes I forget to duck sometimes. thank you for putting up with a forgetful Goblin.
goblinguide
55 posts
Posted 04 September 2010 at 05:06
Permalink
4 replies
Login to post a comment
Shadowex3
2 posts
You're not a goblin and only if the doublestriker has trample.
0
Posted 04 September 2010 at 08:05
Permalink
goblinguide
55 posts
I thought trample is only applied on offense.
So if a creature is blocked - the damage doesn't go through to the player or a planewalker unless the creature has trample, even if the creature deals damage twice and there is no creature to receive the regular damage.
But a blocker with trample who has first strike also can damage their opponent?
0
Posted 04 September 2010 at 18:37
Permalink
NoteworthyPlaysDecks
0 posts
The first part of that is correct (a double-striker without trample that kills the defending creature doesn't do damage to the player) but the second part is not. Blocking creatures never deal combat damage to attacking players. It would take a card ability for that to happen, and I'm sure it does not exist.
0
Posted 05 September 2010 at 17:30
Permalink
Shadowex3
2 posts
Had a dyslexic moment, read that as "block a creature that has double strike" rather than "block with a creature that has doublestrike".
0
Posted 06 September 2010 at 04:38
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!