Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
Leyline of the Void vs Wheel of Sun and Moon
If I were playing a game and my opponent started the game with Leyline of the void on the table, then on turn 2 I resolve a wheel of sun and moon, how do the abilities work together as they are both replacement effects and both read 'IF a card would go to the graveyard, instead... etc'
Any responses happily accepted as I need to get a deck tournament ready :D
ZeroSociety
35 posts
Posted 08 September 2010 at 16:57
Permalink
6 replies
Login to post a comment
Setherial
349 posts
[QUOTE=zerosociety]If I were playing a game and my opponent started the game with Leyline of the void on the table, then on turn 2 I resolve a wheel of sun and moon, how do the abilities work together as they are both replacement effects and both read 'IF a card would go to the graveyard, instead... etc'
Any responses happily accepted as I need to get a deck tournament ready :D[/QUOTE]
f they are both working on the same level the timestamp is used. Whichever came into play most recently overwrites the other. (can someone confirm this?)
0
Posted 08 September 2010 at 21:30
Permalink
Shadowex3
2 posts
In this case, timestamps. In other cases of simultaneous and continuous conflict things that say you can't do something take precedence over things that say you can.
0
Posted 09 September 2010 at 00:17
Permalink
ZeroSociety
35 posts
Is this confirmed MTG judge ruling though? I have had 2 other ideas suggested, one being that it depends on which players turn it is to decide which triggers first, the other being that it depends on the targets controller (in this case milling from a library) that would decide the order. I haven't had chance to ask an official judge yet, but am currently working on getting a deck ready for tournament play after a few years break and could really do with full confirmation.
0
Posted 09 September 2010 at 16:00
Permalink
Clavix
5 posts
The triggers resolve in APNAP order (active player, non-active player). So if it is your turn Wheel triggers first and Leyline second, Leyline resolves first and Wheel fizzles. If it's your opponent's turn, Leyline triggers first and Wheel second. Wheel resolves and Leyline fizzles.
These come from rule 603.3b (APNAP and triggers) and 603.4 (trigger fizzling based on zone change)
0
Posted 10 September 2010 at 18:00
Permalink
NoteworthyPlaysDecks
0 posts
Not timestamp here, and not APNAP. This is a lovely little thing called replacement effects. Here's the oracle for Leyline of the Void and Wheel of Sun and Moon.
Notice that neither say 'when' or 'whenever'. Those are your telltale signs of a triggered ability, which neither have. Instead, those cards say 'instead of X, do Y'. That's called a replacement effect, it's not triggered and doesn't use the stack. Since there's two replacement effects trying to be applied at the same time, the card that's going to the graveyard's owner chooses which one is applied. Then the other doesn't do anything because it no longer replaces anything. So, in this example, if WoSaM was enchanted to Alex and Norbert, his opponent, had Leyline of the Void in play, Alex would choose if his cards were exiled or put on the bottom of his library each time they would go to the graveyard.
0
Posted 12 September 2010 at 23:58
Permalink
ZeroSociety
35 posts
Thanks Loki. Clears up numerous arguements we've been having lately while building this deck. With that in mind, I now know how to work my sideboard. :)
0
Posted 14 September 2010 at 17:58
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!