Discussion Forum

Ward of Bones

I was playing a game with my friends and I recently opened a Ward of Bones from an Eventide booster pack. The card states that if a player has more lands, creatures, artifacts, or enchantments than me, cannot play more of them. when I played this, the friend in question already had more creatures anyway so he couldn't cast more. He then played Mass Polymorph. Does this count under the rule of Ward of Bones? since the artifact says they can't "play" more creature cards?
Posted 15 September 2010 at 00:40

Permalink

i believe it does not count. playing a card means that it is cast from any location. mass polymorph says reveal an equal amount creatures that was exiled from the library then put it into play. the mass polymorph is the spell. putting creatures in play is the effect. another example i think of of a work-around for ward of bones is triggered abilities. lets say you have a bloodghast or a reassembling skeleton in you graveyard. so if you pay 1B or play a land (granting that the opponent has fewer lands than you) the creatures in the graveyard will be in play. Im not sure about this but the way ward of bones is worded means that you can not play anymore of the type of cards in the text but it does not means that other spells that gives out an effect against the effect of ward of bones can not be played.
0
Posted 15 September 2010 at 03:21

Permalink

He can play mass polymorph because he isn't playing a creature spell. the effect of the sorcery is putting those creatures into play. Ward of bones keeps your opponent from casting spells of those types. However abilities such as those on bloodghast and reassembling skeleton aren't effected. So he could keep returning those ffrom his graveyard.
0
Posted 20 September 2010 at 23:06

Permalink