Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
NOOB Q on tapping....
For example if I have 2x Imagecrafter out, and I also have a Cryptic Gateway (CG) out, can I tap the 2 wizards for CG at the same time use their abilities to change each other into sliver and summon a Sliver Overlord for free?
Wat about not themselves but use their abilities to change other creature types, at the same time pull out a free Arcanis the Omnipotent?
and if I were to pull any of these creatures out using CG during an opponents turn, do they still have summon-sickness during that turn?
Thank you for your time.
Kaze
2 posts
Posted 17 September 2010 at 03:17
Permalink
2 replies
Login to post a comment
Jiggs
4 posts
For example if I have 2x Imagecrafter out, and I also have a Cryptic Gateway (CG) out, can I tap the 2 wizards for CG at the same time use their abilities to change each other into sliver and summon a Sliver Overlord for free?
answer: nope. tapping a card is done for a specific effect. so if you tapped the wizards for the CG then a wizard card can be played for free. the wizards will not be able to use their own abilities. suggestion: change token creatures using wizards to sliver type and mutant (because the overlord is a sliver mutant legend) then tap the tokens to summon the sliver overlord.
Wat about not themselves but use their abilities to change other creature types, at the same time pull out a free Arcanis the Omnipotent?
answer: same as above. you can tap them both to summon arcanis but can not use their ability at the same time. the CG ability is not triggered: meaning you would have to choose specifically 2 creatures to activate the effect. if the wording though of CG is "whenever 2 creatures you control is tapped, you may put a creature card from your hand with the same type into play w/o paying the cost..."
and if I were to pull any of these creatures out using CG during an opponents turn, do they still have summon-sickness during that turn?
answer: yes. they are still sick. because SS is removed at the beginning of your turn. so if you summon them at your opponents turn, then it will be sick, meaning your are not able to use creature abilities with tapping symbols on them. but in your case, the sliver overlord can use it's ability immediately bec it does not have a tapping symbol. so if you have 6 mana and you used cg to summon Sliver Overlord at the end of turn of opponent, you can pay 3 to get a sliver in your library and gain control of a sliver.
0
Posted 17 September 2010 at 05:28
Permalink
Kaze
2 posts
Thank you so much for your detailed response, tokens seems like a good idea to take advantage of this scenario.
0
Posted 17 September 2010 at 11:30
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!