Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
About Riptide Laboratory
Quick question about Riptide Laboratory,
If during my opponents combat phase he attack with a creature that is a stronger than my
wizard which I declared to block with, and damages have been resolved, can I save my wizard
with this land ability by back into my hand instead of the graveyard AFTER the damages have
been resolved?
Kaze
2 posts
Posted 17 September 2010 at 11:58
Permalink
20 replies
Login to post a comment
LexustheGreat
3 posts
yes after the combat damage is asigned you can play a ability to return your wizard, so no damage will be dealt to your life and your wizard is safely in your hands...
How ever you need to do this before the damage resolves, if your wizard is destroyed or dealt lethal damage it is to late...
0
Posted 17 September 2010 at 12:16
Permalink
Kaze
2 posts
yea, unless it did something like that I really didnt see the point in this ability, thx Lex, appreciate the quick reply.
0
Posted 17 September 2010 at 12:19
Permalink
LexustheGreat
3 posts
well it could also work great with a control card (you control target creature) and trickery charm, to remove your opponents "wizard" from the game.
Or in combination with a "when ... enters the battlefield ..." triggered ability card...so you could make that card enter the battle field again and again.....
0
Posted 17 September 2010 at 12:23
Permalink
Kaze
2 posts
I see what you mean, I guess Merchant of Secrets can work really well than.
Actually I have a following question for Riptide Lab now, if I sac a wizard for
Voidmage Prodigy, I cant return the sac'd wizard back to my
hand can I?
0
Posted 17 September 2010 at 12:27
Permalink
LexustheGreat
3 posts
No...would be awsome though..
If you would return you wizard and the sac your wizard when the abilities resolve you would return it so you have nothing to sac...and the other way around if you return it and then sac'ed it when it resolves you would destroy your wizard and have nothing to return...
So that wouldn't work...
0
Posted 17 September 2010 at 12:36
Permalink
Kaze
2 posts
k, thank you for your answers.
Trying to make a mono tribal wizard deck and its not coming smoothly.....especially one without Patron Wizard seems like a suicide mission...lol
Anyways thx again for your time and effort.
0
Posted 17 September 2010 at 12:44
Permalink
seras
59 posts
[QUOTE=Lexusthegreat]yes after the combat damage is asigned you can play a ability to return your wizard, so no damage will be dealt to your life and your wizard is safely in your hands...
How ever you need to do this before the damage resolves, if your wizard is destroyed or dealt lethal damage it is to late...[/QUOTE]
actually no, the last time he could use this ability is in response to the blockers being declared, damage assignment happens past the point of no return.
0
Posted 17 September 2010 at 13:51
Permalink
Kaze
2 posts
awwwww.....
so this land ability is strictly for "when entering field" trigger wizards....
man onslaught is hard to work with when it comes to blues and wizards....
0
Posted 17 September 2010 at 15:46
Permalink
Jiggs
4 posts
you can block with the wizard, then fast effect the land to get the wizard out of battle. no damage from the other creature and your wizard is safe
0
Posted 18 September 2010 at 04:20
Permalink
Sasquatch99
1 post
Or say they were to use pacifism on your wizard, return it to your hand then resummon it next chance
0
Posted 18 September 2010 at 17:30
Permalink
Kaze
2 posts
ok, so you CAN cheap block your way out with this land ability, and yea I guess if I wanted to remove any prexisting effects on a wizard, thats one way out too.
Thank you for your time.
0
Posted 18 September 2010 at 21:42
Permalink
LexustheGreat
3 posts
[QUOTE=Seras]actually no, the last time he could use this ability is in response to the blockers being declared, damage assignment happens past the point of no return.[/QUOTE]
Say what? So if some dude declairs blockers then sac's its creature to power up another, my attacker (who "was" blocked by the creature just sac'ed) isn't blocked, and does damage to his life points?
Edit: Wait I didn't read the rest of the posts, and Now I am confused....Can you declare blockers, then sac/activate a ability to return you blocking creature, and still prevent damage and save your blocker (unless sac'ed obviously)??
Second edit: So I found the answer on a nother forum...So I guess that'll work...this opens up a load of new abilities....
0
Posted 19 September 2010 at 14:39
Permalink
Aneximines
4 posts
[QUOTE=Lexusthegreat]Edit: Wait I didn't read the rest of the posts, and Now I am confused....Can you declare blockers, then sac/activate a ability to return you blocking creature, and still prevent damage and save your blocker (unless sac'ed obviously)??[/quote]
Alright, let's take all this one step at a time. See step 4 in particular.
506.1. The combat phase has five steps, which proceed in order: beginning of combat, declare attackers, declare blockers, combat damage, and end of combat. ...
Each player gets a chance to play instants and activated abilities during each of these five steps, after the initial business of the step.
Step 1: Beginning of Combat
Nothing happens, usually. Effects that happen "at the beginning of combat" go on the stack now. This is the defending player's last chance to use tap effects to keep an opponent's creature from attacking.
Step 2: Declare Attackers
The active player declares attackers. They become tapped.
Step 3: Declare Blockers
The defending player declares blockers. The creatures they block become blocked, and will remain blocked for the rest of combat, even if the blocking creature vanishes.
So, you could block with a Wizard now, and then in this same step bounce it with the Laboratory, and the creature it blocked will still be blocked and not be able to assign any combat damage to you (unless it has trample). Still, this is not the optimal time to do this trick; see below.
Step 4: Combat Damage EDIT: I got this part wrong; I failed to notice a big rules update; see Seras's post below.
Combat damage is assigned and goes on the stack. You can respond to this damage on the stack. This is the coolest time to bounce your blocker, because removing the blocker doesn't take its damage off the stack.
In other words, you attack me with an Elite Vanguard, and I block it with my Spellstutter Sprite. Then once combat damage is on the stack, I bounce my Sprite with the Laboratory. When combat damage eventually resolves, my Sprite is in my hand so the 2 damage from the Vanguard goes to waste, and your Vanguard dies from the 1 damage my Sprite left sitting on the stack.
That's how its done.
Step 5: End of Combat.
Nothing happens, usually. This step is for "at end of combat" abilities to trigger.
0
Posted 19 September 2010 at 23:05
Permalink
Kaze
2 posts
Wow, thank your for your detailed reponse, based on the phases within combat I guess its doable.
lol didnt think my question would end up with a thread like this.
k, */1 beware, wizardry will get you!
0
Posted 20 September 2010 at 03:16
Permalink
seras
59 posts
sorry but step 4 is definitely wrong, this was changed with the m10 rules clean up.
combat damage does not use the stack.
you can respond to step 3 but once that stack resolves then it's on to step 4 and nothing can be cast/activated until the damage resolves.
0
Posted 20 September 2010 at 04:06
Permalink
Kaze
2 posts
so, technically there is no step 5, just step 4 an additional resolvement of combat dmg melted into it, THAN we can activate instants and abilities?
0
Posted 20 September 2010 at 04:08
Permalink
seras
59 posts
http://www.wizards.com/magic/magazine/article.aspx?x=mtg/daily/feature/42a number 5 covers it nicely
0
Posted 20 September 2010 at 04:18
Permalink
Aneximines
4 posts
Egads!
Well, that does make sense. It was kind of odd for "damage" to go on the stack in that one instance but not in any others, and the trick I described above always was a tad unintuitive.
Hm. I'm going have to reread the rules...
0
Posted 20 September 2010 at 04:49
Permalink
Aneximines
4 posts
[QUOTE=Seras]http://www.wizards.com/magic/magazine/article.aspx?x=mtg/daily/feature/42a number 5 covers it nicely[/QUOTE]
Thanks for the article. Those are some well-done rules changes.
0
Posted 20 September 2010 at 05:12
Permalink
Setherial
349 posts
Jesus dudes, what a confusing pile of replies
Here is the summary
1. Opponent declares attackers and passes priority
2. You block with wizard and pass priority
3. Your opponent asks to go to damage and passes priority
4. You bounce your wizard and pass priority
5. Your opponent does not respond
6. We go to the damage step, the attacker was blocked but the blocker is gone. Unless the attacker has trample no damage is dealt by that creature. If the creature has trample full damage is done to player
Additional Info
- There's no such thing as damage on the stack (there used to be before M10)
- Riptide Laboratory is a useful card and is still played in legacy (tournaments). Lists like Faeries and Sumpreme Blue uses Riptide.
0
Posted 20 September 2010 at 07:03
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!