Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
Question on mechanics: sac vs exile
opponent controls the following
Reassembling Skeleton + Bloodthrone Vampire
He attacks with his vampire and sacs the skeleton to it. I Celestial Purge the skeleton in response... what happens?
can he sac it again in response? does it goto the graveyard in because of the sac and he can bring it back and sac it again? is it exiled and the vamp gets no bonus?
im asking because my opponent played it as the skeleton isnt there anymore as a target for the purge because he say sas soon as he declares that hes sacing the creature to the vampire it immediately removes the skeleton from play as a legal target for the purge? and i lost to him in the last bracket of FNM 2 days ago, and no one was there who knew any better that could make a ruling...
pls help...
botmaster5
8 posts
Posted 19 September 2010 at 19:44
Permalink
9 replies
Login to post a comment
LexustheGreat
3 posts
Your opps sac's its skellleton to pay for the ability of the vampire, the ability stacks but the skeleton is moved to the graveyard as part of the cost, that does not stack..So there is no skeleton to purge....so your respond does nothing...beter to purge the vampire...
(Anyone to double on this? or am I wrong again ^^)
0
Posted 19 September 2010 at 20:27
Permalink
botmaster5
8 posts
so if there is a sac mechanic on the table there is no way to remove a creature from the game? pre-emptive or in responce? doesnt seem right to me
0
Posted 19 September 2010 at 20:46
Permalink
LexustheGreat
3 posts
only the ability goes on the stack not the sacraficing, so as you activate a ability with the cost of sacraficing when you anounce it the sac'ed creature is already in a graveyard..
edit: and ofcourse there are plenty of ways to remove a sac'ing creature from the game, for instance by making the controller sac it ^^
0
Posted 19 September 2010 at 21:02
Permalink
botmaster5
8 posts
its not that easy with a Reassembling Skeleton >.<
anywho, thx for the clarrification
0
Posted 19 September 2010 at 21:27
Permalink
LexustheGreat
3 posts
well that card just needs to be exiled :D...with cards like cemetery reaper (works wsm against a reassembling skeleton and gives you a 3/3 :D)...
0
Posted 19 September 2010 at 21:53
Permalink
Aneximines
4 posts
[QUOTE=botmaster5]so if there is a sac mechanic on the table there is no way to remove a creature from the game? pre-emptive or in responce? doesnt seem right to me[/QUOTE]
If by "sac mechanic" you mean an activated ability that costs just "sacrifice a creature," then yes, basically, you are right. The only way to exile that skeleton with something ready to eat it like that is with anti-graveyard cards like Shadowfeed and Relic of Progenitus - and even then only if they don't have the mana to fling it back out onto the battlefield in response.
0
Posted 19 September 2010 at 23:35
Permalink
Jiggs
4 posts
i have a sac deck and this two cards is one of my combo. the skeleton gets into the graveyard before the purge resolves so no more target. so lexus is correct. better purge the vamp instead. in my deck if the skeleton is targeted and the effect is to exile the card (also i have bloodgast) then i'll just simply sac it ( either to the vamp or carnage altar) so that it will go to the graveyard instead. the best way to remove the skeleton is to play a bojuka bog (land) then target the graveyard that has the skeleton ( but i can pay 1B to bring it back into play, so... )
0
Posted 20 September 2010 at 02:49
Permalink
Shadowex3
2 posts
You can counter an activated ability that costs a sacrifice and screw him out of both what he sacrificed and the effect he wanted...
0
Posted 26 September 2010 at 07:22
Permalink
Setherial
349 posts
[QUOTE=Shadowex3]You can counter an activated ability that costs a sacrifice and screw him out of both what he sacrificed and the effect he wanted...[/QUOTE]
but the skelleton would still have been sacrificed (as it is a cost and you can't stifle a cost) and celestial purge would still fail so this is not really rellevant.
0
Posted 27 September 2010 at 07:18
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!