Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
Exiling an enchantment
let's say someone uses the landfall ability of admonition angel to exile my oblivion ring. when i kill the angel, does the o-ring come back enchanting the original creature? if the original creature is dead, do i get to pick a new target?
thanks again guys!
tpgh
41 posts
Posted 21 September 2010 at 18:48
Permalink
6 replies
Login to post a comment
seras
59 posts
when oblivion ring re-enters play, you select a target and exile it. it can but does not have to be the same one
0
Posted 21 September 2010 at 19:13
Permalink
Jiggs
4 posts
yup.can be the same or a new target.
0
Posted 22 September 2010 at 03:11
Permalink
Setherial
349 posts
what they said +
you make it sound like you think Oblivion Ring is an aura (= enchantment that enchants a permanent). Oblivion ring doesn't enchant anything, it exiles another non land permanent. It does not enchant this permenant.
0
Posted 22 September 2010 at 07:20
Permalink
pete_h
49 posts
Actually, I may be wrong, so someone may need to correct me, but I think if he activates the angel in responce to the O-ring, removing the O-ring before it resolves, I think the angel gets removed permanently. So the O-ring would come back into play, but the angel wouldn't, so you would have to choose another permanent to remove. I think I've seen this happen on MTGO, so I think this is how it works.
Edit: Actually I'm pretty sure this is right, cause I've seen someone cast an O-ring, and in responce cast an Into the Roil on their O-ring, returning it to their hand before it resolves, and it permanently removes the permanent from the game. Does that make any sence at all? lol.
0
Posted 22 September 2010 at 21:14
Permalink
pete_h
49 posts
I'm sorry, I totally missunderstood what you were asking. I thought you were asking if they activated the angel in responce to O-ring. So.... as stated above the O-ring would come back into play and you can chose any legal target, whether it's the same or a differant target doesn't matter.
0
Posted 22 September 2010 at 21:24
Permalink
Jiggs
4 posts
If Oblivion Ring leaves the battlefield before its first ability has resolved, its second ability will trigger and do nothing. Then its first ability will resolve and exile the targeted nonland permanent forever. so play the ring. respond to the 1st ability using the roil (or boomerang) then resolve the stack.
0
Posted 23 September 2010 at 02:55
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!