Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
Umbra vs World Spell
My buddy play's an umbra deck along with a couple World destroy spells. I know a doom blade for example will only remove an umbra, however Does it apply to a world spell also?
joebrodude
0 posts
Posted 22 September 2010 at 23:51
Permalink
6 replies
Login to post a comment
LexustheGreat
3 posts
yes, if it says destroy creature in the line....and umbra basically saves a creature in every single way...read the rules;
* 6/15/2010: Totem armor's effect is mandatory. If the enchanted permanent would be destroyed, you must remove all damage from it and destroy the Aura that has totem armor instead.
* 6/15/2010: Totem armor's effect is applied no matter why the enchanted permanent would be destroyed: because it's been dealt lethal damage, or because it's being affected by an effect that says to "destroy" it (such as Doom Blade). In either case, all damage is removed from the permanent and the Aura is destroyed instead.
* 6/15/2010: Totem armor has no effect if the enchanted permanent is put into a graveyard for any other reason, such as if it's sacrificed, if it's legendary and another legendary permanent with the same name is on the battlefield, or if its toughness is 0 or less.
* 6/15/2010: If a permanent you control is enchanted with multiple Auras that have totem armor, and the enchanted permanent would be destroyed, one of those Auras is destroyed instead -- but only one of them. You choose which one because you control the enchanted permanent.
* 6/15/2010: If a creature enchanted with an Aura that has totem armor is indestructible, lethal damage and effects that try to destroy it simply have no effect. Totem armor won't do anything because it won't have to.
* 6/15/2010: If a creature enchanted with an Aura that has totem armor would be destroyed by multiple state-based actions at the same time the totem armor's effect will replace all of them and save the creature.
* 6/15/2010: If a spell or ability (such as Planar Cleansing) would destroy both an Aura with totem armor and the permanent it's enchanting at the same time, totem armor's effect will save the enchanted permanent from being destroyed. Instead, the spell or ability will destroy the Aura in two different ways at the same time, but the result is the same as destroying it once.
* 6/15/2010: Totem armor's effect is not regeneration. Specifically, if totem armor's effect is applied, the enchanted permanent does not become tapped and is not removed from combat as a result. Effects that say the enchanted permanent can't be regenerated (as Vendetta does) won't prevent totem armor's effect from being applied.
* 6/15/2010: Say you control a permanent enchanted with an Aura that has totem armor, and the enchanted permanent has gained a regeneration shield. The next time it would be destroyed, you choose whether to apply the regeneration effect or the totem armor effect. The other effect is unused and remains, in case the permanent would be destroyed again.
* 6/15/2010: Say you control a permanent enchanted with an Aura that has totem armor, and that Aura has gained a regeneration shield. The next time the enchanted permanent would be destroyed, the Aura would be destroyed instead -- but it regenerates, so nothing is destroyed at all. Alternately, if that Aura somehow becomes indestructible, the enchanted permanent is effectively indestructible as well.
* 6/15/2010: If a spell or ability says that it would "destroy" a permanent enchanted with an Aura that has totem armor, that spell or ability causes the Aura to be destroyed instead. (This matters for cards such as Karmic Justice.) Totem armor doesn't destroy the Aura; rather, it changes the effects of the spell or ability. On the other hand, if a spell or ability deals lethal damage to a creature enchanted with an Aura that has totem armor, the game rules regarding lethal damage cause the Aura to be destroyed, not that spell or ability.
* 6/15/2010: When the enchanted creature attacks, all lands controlled by that creature's controller (who is not necessarily the Aura's controller) untap.
0
Posted 23 September 2010 at 06:58
Permalink
Setherial
349 posts
[QUOTE=joebrodude]My buddy play's an umbra deck along with a couple World destroy spells. I know a doom blade for example will only remove an umbra, however Does it apply to a world spell also?[/QUOTE]
I don't understand your reasoning behind this. Umbra's clearly state
'If enchanted creature would be destroyed, instead remove all damage from it and destroy this Aura.'
Why would it matter how the creature gets destroyed? Where do you get that world effects would have a different effect. Just read both cards and the way they interact will be clear 99% of the time. There are times stuff gets confusing but not often.
0
Posted 23 September 2010 at 09:09
Permalink
pete_h
49 posts
[QUOTE=Seth]I don't understand your reasoning behind this. Umbra's clearly state
'If enchanted creature would be destroyed, instead remove all damage from it and destroy this Aura.'
Why would it matter how the creature gets destroyed? Where do you get that world effects would have a different effect. Just read both cards and the way they interact will be clear 99% of the time. There are times stuff gets confusing but not often.[/QUOTE]
The only thing I can think is that the OP is thinking it works like "Protection". Know what I'm saying? Like a creature has protection from white can't be pathed, but it can be wrathed... What seems obvious to more experienced players isn't always as clear (even if they couldn't make it any more clear on the card... lol) to people just starting out.
0
Posted 23 September 2010 at 12:56
Permalink
mcmurray26
3 posts
This one confuses me
* 6/15/2010: Totem armor has no effect if the enchanted permanent is put into a graveyard for any other reason, such as if it's sacrificed, if it's legendary and another legendary permanent with the same name is on the battlefield, or if its toughness is 0 or less.
If the toughness is 0 or less doesnt the totem armor get sacrificed to save the creature? or does this mean say a 2/2 with hyena umbra which is then a 3/2 gets -2/-2 from a spell that its destroyed or is the totem armor sacrificed?
0
Posted 24 September 2010 at 21:16
Permalink
pete_h
49 posts
[QUOTE=mcmurray26]This one confuses me
* 6/15/2010: Totem armor has no effect if the enchanted permanent is put into a graveyard for any other reason, such as if it's sacrificed, if it's legendary and another legendary permanent with the same name is on the battlefield, or if its toughness is 0 or less.
If the toughness is 0 or less doesnt the totem armor get sacrificed to save the creature? or does this mean say a 2/2 with hyena umbra which is then a 3/2 gets -2/-2 from a spell that its destroyed or is the totem armor sacrificed?[/QUOTE]
The creature then dies. The only thing the the totem armor saves it from is damage, and cards that say "Destroy". It's basically the same thing as a creature that has regenerate, except a free one time use. You can't regenerate a creature that has a toughness 0 or less. The reasoning behind this is because a card that gives your creature -2/-2 until end of turn, does exactly that. The effect lasts until the end of the turn, so even if the totem armor did get sacrificed, the creature's toughness would still be at 0. Understand?
0
Posted 24 September 2010 at 23:17
Permalink
mcmurray26
3 posts
Thank you I understand now, so regenerate is the same way for that?
0
Posted 25 September 2010 at 04:34
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!