Discussion Forum

Necrotic plague + Persist

I have this Combo I use but I have a doubt how it works. I use Cauldron of Souls to give persist to creatures and thus gain an additional sacrifice step for them during the game. How does it work if there is only one creature on the battlefield and it is enchanted with necrotic plague? I know both of them enter the graveyard at the same time but which ruling triggers first? Persist as in it comes back to the battlefield and then the necrotic plague goes on the creature again or does the necrotic plague enter my graveyard and stay there?
Posted 28 September 2010 at 08:22

Permalink

first of if it is your creature that goes to the yard and necrotic plague going to your graveyard as well you stack the two triggers anyway you like. If you want necrotic to resolve before persist resolves then you stack them that way.

second and more importantly, necrotic says

When enchanted creature is put into a graveyard, its controller chooses target creature one of his or her opponents controls.

With only one creature in play enchanted with necrotic plague that dies you don't have a legal target for necrotic plague to return from the yard even if persist triggers first, because you can't attach it to your own creature. (unless you don't own the persisting creature :) )
0
Posted 28 September 2010 at 11:30

Permalink

Thanks, that's what I thought. My friend's twisted new deck works with this card and we've been thinking how this works.
It's quite odd and funny deck as it works like a charm every time even though it makes himself lose life almost always as much as his opponent/opponents.
0
Posted 30 September 2010 at 23:41

Permalink