Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG General Discussion
EDH rule Question
I've found myself rather addicted to the EDH format for whatever reason and a couple cards in my deck have brought about an issue as to whether they are playable in my deck or not. I have looked through all the rules I can find online and haven't found anything to back up the claim.
I was discussing my EDH deck with a new friend (literally just met him) and he said that I can't play Snake Basket or Orachi Hatchery in my deck because my general is U/B/W. His arguement is that cards in my deck can't produce Green creatures since green isn't in my General's symbols. My research finds that only mana symbols are subject to this restriction not "Color Word."
Am I right or wrong? I'm not interested in the "I told you so" factor, just want to make a deck that is legal.
Bonzai820
55 posts
Posted 28 September 2010 at 19:14
Permalink
1 reply
Login to post a comment
Dazereth
10 posts
I think you're correct.
As far as I know the rule on colors vs. generals is that: You may have cards in your deck that share symbols with your general. Creature color is never mentioned. I would assume that your combo is just annoying your friend and he doesn't want to see it happen. =3
Hatchery is an artifact that pumps out 1/1 green snake tokens iirc.
EDIT: According to ElderDragonHighlander.net you cannot produce a mana color outside of your general colors. If you do, it is considered colorless. So, that theory wouldn't work. I've yet to see anything about pumping out colored tokens, as they don't have a mana symbol per se.
0
Posted 28 September 2010 at 20:51
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!