Discussion Forum

Can I respond to myself?

If I have a Triskelion in play, with let's say 10 +1/+1 counters on it.. I remove a counter to deal 1 damage to a player, and in response they cast an instant which destroys target creature / artifact. I know I can respond by removing another +1/+1 counter, but am I then able to remove another.. then another.. all of them? I'm pretty sure I can, but I'd like to be certain before my next match (and preferably be able to cite the rule as well). I just grabbed up two Elspeth vs. Tezzeret decks, and plan to combine the contents of the Tezzy decks with my arcbound deck... dunno why I never thought of adding Triskelions to it before ;P
Posted 01 October 2010 at 23:46

Permalink

I think you want to take a closer look on what the rules say about the stack and priority.

When you begin your turn - you have priority, meaning you can play spells. When you play spells, they go on the stack.

When you want your spells on the stack to resolve, or when you want to move to another phase, you pass priority to your opponent.

When you pass priority, the player which receives priority may play spells in "response", which also goes to the stack.

Any player may play as many spells or abilitys as they chose before passing priority - but no spells will resolve untill every player pass priority without adding spells to the stack.

In the question about Triskelion - you can remove all counters before passing priority, and you can respond to the creature being destroyed by removing all counters - unless the player who destroyed the creature used a card with split second. (or played a card with split second right after)
0
Posted 02 October 2010 at 08:05

Permalink

in other words, you can remove all the counters before the opponents effect gets resolved.
0
Posted 02 October 2010 at 09:12

Permalink