Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
Mana web and colourless mana
If I have Mana Web and for example Propaganda out, My opponent needs to pay colourless mana in order to attack me.
Since all lands can produce colourless mana, does this mean all of his lands becomes tapped due to Mana Web?
agenteyebe
1 post
Posted 02 October 2010 at 09:12
Permalink
5 replies
Login to post a comment
Jiggs
4 posts
well, any mana produced can be paid to a colorless cost... mana webs effect says that when a land an opponent controls is tapped for mana, it checks which types of mana (white, blue, black, red, green, or colorless) that land could produce using any of its mana abilities, not merely the one the player just used. Then it checks which lands that player controls have abilities that could produce any of those types of mana. Then it taps those lands. in other words if a brushland is tapped, lands that produce colorless, white and green mana are also tapped because of the web. The lands that are tapped by Mana Web’s ability don’t produce mana as a result, but the opponent can tap his or her lands for mana in response to Mana Web’s ability triggering. so answer the question, yes, all lands are tapped.
0
Posted 02 October 2010 at 09:28
Permalink
agenteyebe
1 post
so could see for example a plains able to produce W and colourless so other lands that could produce colourless ia also tapped, for example a island that as well could produce U or colourless?
0
Posted 02 October 2010 at 09:54
Permalink
agenteyebe
1 post
so could for example a plains able to produce W and colourless so other lands that could produce colourless are also tapped, for example an island that as well could produce U or colourless?
0
Posted 02 October 2010 at 09:55
Permalink
Jiggs
4 posts
no. propaganda states that the opponent must pay 2 mana for each creature that he or she wants to attack with. it does not matter what color it is, that is why it is colorless. but mana webs ability states that whatever land is tapped for mana, other lands that can produce the same color will be tapped as well. if opponent is a white-blue deck and he tapped 2 plains for mana to pay for the propaganda, all plains are tapped. same goes for islands. if he pays for the propaganda using a plains and a tundra (W/U mana producer) then all plains and islands (because tundar produces a blue mana as well) are tapped. but let's say he tapped mishra's factory and a plains and there is an urza's tower under the opponets control, then all plains, the tundra and the tower will be tapped (plains because it produces W mana, tundra bec it can produce a w mana, and the tower because it produces a colorless mana) but no islands will be tapped as an effect to the web bec he did not produce a u mana.
0
Posted 02 October 2010 at 11:11
Permalink
SavajCabbaj
542 posts
I think what you're confused about is the color of mana being used to pay for Propaganda's ability.
The mana symbol :mana2: in Propaganda's text means that it can be payed for with any color of mana, or colorless mana. When you tap a Plains, it produces only :manaw:. Even though Propaganda's ability has a colorless cost, you are still paying for it with :manaw: from the Plains. The only lands that produce colorless mana are ones that say ":symtap:: Add :mana1: to your mana pool." or any other quantity of colorless mana.
0
Posted 02 October 2010 at 14:53
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!