Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
enduring renewal?
Please c/d my understanding of this card:
1. Your hand is always revealed
2. Whenever you are drawing a card, you reveal the top card of library
3. If it is not a creature, you draw that card
4. If it is a creature, it goes to graveyard, THEN to your hand
5. Whenever a creature is sent to graveyard, it returns to your hand
My question is on the ruling:
> Enduring Renewal only affects creature cards that are "drawn". It doesn't affect cards that are put into your hand from your library, or from anywhere else.
So any creature can't be returned to hand more than once, since they wouldn't be drawn, but rather put into my hand from graveyard?
Betray
1 post
Posted 14 October 2010 at 02:08
Permalink
2 replies
Login to post a comment
Jiggs
4 posts
from what i understand of the rule, any card revealed from the top of the library that is a creature card goes to the graveyard. but if an effect lets you get a creature card from the library then it will not go to the graveyard.
number 4 of your understanding of the card is wrong. the creature card that was revealed goes to the graveyard, period. it does not go to your hand.
number 5 of your understanding of the card is now a triggered effect. this means your opponent has the opportunity to remove the creature card from your graveyard while the triggered ability is still on the stack. If, after the last ability triggers, the creature card is removed from your graveyard in response, it won't be returned to your hand.
0
Posted 14 October 2010 at 02:56
Permalink
Aneximines
4 posts
[QUOTE=betray]Please c/d my understanding of this card:[/quote]
It is sometimes helpful to see the current text of the card. You can find these at Wizard of the Coast's official card database, Gatherer.
Enduring Renewal
Play with your hand revealed.
If you would draw a card, reveal the top card of your library instead. If it's a creature card, put it into your graveyard. Otherwise, draw a card.
Whenever a creature is put into your graveyard from the battlefield, return it to your hand.
[quote]1. Your hand is always revealed
2. Whenever you are drawing a card, you reveal the top card of library
3. If it is not a creature, you draw that card[/quote]
So far so good.
[quote]4. If it is a creature, it goes to graveyard, THEN to your hand[/quote]
The "return it to your hand" ability only works when a creature is put into your graveyard from the battlefield. It won't return creature cards that were discarded, Pulled from Eternity, or put into your graveyard from your library, like say by Enduring Renewal's second ability.
[QUOTE]5. Whenever a creature is sent to graveyard from the battlefield, it returns to your hand[/QUOTE]
Correct with the highlighted addition.
[quote]My question is on the ruling:
> Enduring Renewal only affects creature cards that are "drawn". It doesn't affect cards that are put into your hand from your library, or from anywhere else.[/QUOTE]
This ruling is talking about Enduring Renewal's second ability, about revealing cards you draw and putting them into the graveyard if they're creature cards.
That ability only effects cards that you "draw;" so for example if you would draw a creature card from, say, Courier's Capsule, then you wouldn't get it. But it won't interfere with things like Fauna Shaman or Eladamri's Call that "put" the creature card into your hand.
The general idea of the card is that it makes your creatures immortal, but you won't be getting any more. Of course both ends of that can be worked around; your opponent can still get rid of creatures permanently by exiling them, for example, and you can still get new creature cards into your hand with "search and put" effects or things like Abundance.
(the classic use of this card, by the way, is to use free creatures and sacrifice effects, like say Memnite and Altar of Dementia)
0
Posted 14 October 2010 at 06:13
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!