Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
captivating vampire ?
A buddy and I were playing, his vampire deck vs my life gaining deck. I used Ajani Goldmane to put a 24/24 white avatar creature onto the battlefield.
He used captivating vampires ability to gain control of my 24/24 white avatar creature. Since my 24/24 creature was tapped he could not use it until he untapped it on his next turn, right?
Thanks for the help.
ETA: Heres my deck http://www.mtgvault.com/ViewDeck.aspx?DeckID=105028
Please let me know what you think.
jonrowe2020
0 posts
Posted 14 October 2010 at 22:49
Permalink
5 replies
Login to post a comment
gucky1
2 posts
When he gains control of the creature it will stay tapped.
So he can still "do stuff" with it (like sac it), but he can't block - I guess that's what you meant.
0
Posted 15 October 2010 at 07:49
Permalink
pete_h
49 posts
Also, I don't know if you know this or not, but the way I read your post it sounds to me like you don't. When he gains control of it, it's P/T becomes whatever his life total is. If the life total of the token's controller changes, it's P/T changes with it. I don't know if I'm making this clear, so here's an example: You create the token with your life total at 24, so he is a 24/24 creature. You pass the turn. Your opponent attacks you with a 3/3 flyer (lets say you can't block it). So now your life total is 21, so your token is now a 21/21. Then lets say during your opponent's (who is sitting at an unfortunate 5 life)second main phase he decides to take control of the token. Once the token is under his control it is then a whimpy 5/5... Get it.
Again if you already knew this than I apologize. I'm just bored and tired, and may have just read your post wrong... lol
0
Posted 16 October 2010 at 04:55
Permalink
seras
59 posts
[QUOTE=jonrowe2020]Since my 24/24 creature was tapped he could not use it until he untapped it on his next turn, right?[/QUOTE]
even if it was untapped it would suffer from summoning sickness since it did not start the turn under your opponent's control
0
Posted 17 October 2010 at 17:50
Permalink
Bonzai820
55 posts
From my understanding the creature would not have summoning sickness. As far as I know summoning sickness only occurs after the creature is put into the battlefield, not when players exchange control of it.
0
Posted 18 October 2010 at 18:39
Permalink
seras
59 posts
nope, it's an ongoing state check.
[QUOTE]302.6. A creature's activated ability with the tap symbol or the untap symbol in its activation cost can't be activated unless the creature has been under its controller's control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. A creature can't attack unless it has been under its controller's control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. This rule is informally called the "summoning sickness" rule.[/QUOTE]
0
Posted 18 October 2010 at 18:46
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!