Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
Copied Spells
Specifically with Precursor Golem: You play a spell targeting a Precrrusor and copy it for the other Golems. Does each copy count as being cast? Does it count as being played?
For example, would it trigger Sphinx Bone-Wand 3 times? Its text is "Whenever you cast an instant or sorcery..."
Or trigger Gelectrode 3 times (let's just pretend its ability could work before the copies are played/cast/whatever)? Its text is "Whenever you play an instant or sorcery..." - Wee Dragonauts is a better example for this scenario.
Zanmor
304 posts
Posted 18 October 2010 at 15:51
Permalink
2 replies
Login to post a comment
Aneximines
4 posts
[QUOTE=Zanmor]Specifically with Precursor Golem: You play a spell targeting a Precrrusor and copy it for the other Golems. Does each copy count as being cast? Does it count as being played?[/quote]
No. The underlying idea is that casting a spell involves paying its costs, which doesn't happen when copying the spell (contrast copying a "spell" with things like Isochron Scepter that copy a "card" and let you "cast" the copy).
Here's the rule about copying spells:
706.9. To copy a spell or activated ability means to put a copy of it onto the stack; a copy of a spell isn’t cast and a copy of an activated ability isn’t activated. A copy of a spell or ability copies both the characteristics of the spell or ability and all decisions made for it, including modes, targets, the value of X, and additional or alternative costs. (See rule 601, “Casting Spells.”) Choices that are normally made on resolution are not copied. If an effect of the copy refers to objects used to pay its costs, it uses the objects used to pay the costs of the original spell or ability. A copy of a spell is owned by the player under whose control it was put on the stack. A copy of a spell or ability is controlled by the player under whose control it was put on the stack. A copy of a spell is itself a spell, even though it has no spell card associated with it. A copy of an ability is itself an ability.
Note that many copy effects change things about the copies they create. For example Precursor Golem's ability changes the copies' targets, and Fork changes both the target and color. Everything else about the copy is exactly the same, though, such as the value of X (for spells like Consume Spirit and such) or choice of mode (for spells that say "choose one -").
[quote]For example, would it trigger Sphinx Bone-Wand 3 times? Its text is "Whenever you cast an instant or sorcery..."
Or trigger Gelectrode 3 times (let's just pretend its ability could work before the copies are played/cast/whatever)? Its text is "Whenever you play an instant or sorcery..." - Wee Dragonauts is a better example for this scenario.[/QUOTE]
No, those would only trigger on the originally cast spell.
0
Posted 18 October 2010 at 17:57
Permalink
Zanmor
304 posts
Great response, thanks!
0
Posted 18 October 2010 at 21:01
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!