Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
quest for the holy relic question
if i have say a 1/1 creature out and i sac quest for the holy relic to attach an Argentum Armor to it to give it +6/+6 can my opponent say, "in response, i will lightning bolt(or any other removal) your creature before you do that"
or
how bout i keep the quest for the holy relic out with 5 counters on it and when my opponent is about to lightning bolt my guy i say, "in response ill sac QHR and give it +6/+6 to keep it alive"
one more thing: I declare attackers, none blocked and i attach before damage, or if im being attacked and i block then give my guy the equipment
lol the stack and response time and stuff confuses me :confused:
ThePhanMan
2 posts
Posted 27 October 2010 at 06:46
Permalink
4 replies
Login to post a comment
pete_h
49 posts
[QUOTE=thephanman]if i have say a 1/1 creature out and i sac quest for the holy relic to attach an Argentum Armor to it to give it +6/+6 can my opponent say, "in response, i will lightning bolt(or any other removal) your creature before you do that"
or
how bout i keep the quest for the holy relic out with 5 counters on it and when my opponent is about to lightning bolt my guy i say, "in response ill sac QHR and give it +6/+6 to keep it alive"
one more thing: I declare attackers, none blocked and i attach before damage, or if im being attacked and i block then give my guy the equipment
lol the stack and response time and stuff confuses me :confused:[/QUOTE]
All of those work. If you sac the Quest, your opponent can cast an instant on your creature. Same for the other way around... You can save your creature from a lightning bolt with an Armor in responce.
You can attack with a 1/1, and then sac the Quest before damage is dealt. I've thought about doing that with my deck, but the bad thing about that is that you don't get to use the Armor's ability to destroy a permanent if you do it that way. Other than that you can do it.
0
Posted 27 October 2010 at 06:58
Permalink
Setherial
349 posts
read this Priority and the Stack and alll will be revealed :)
0
Posted 27 October 2010 at 07:40
Permalink
ThePhanMan
2 posts
so i guess whoever takes action second gets what they want
0
Posted 27 October 2010 at 22:40
Permalink
Aneximines
4 posts
[QUOTE=thephanman]if i have say a 1/1 creature out and i sac quest for the holy relic to attach an Argentum Armor to it to give it +6/+6 can my opponent say, "in response, i will lightning bolt(or any other removal) your creature before you do that"[/quote]
Not quite.
Your opponent can certainly cast Lightning Bolt in response to you using the Quest's ability.
At that point, though, he doesn't know which creature you're going to attach the equipment to, or even what equipment you're going to get.
This is because the decision on which equipment you get and which creature you equip it to are both part of the resolution of the Quest's ability. He can Bolt a creature in response to the ability, but once the ability starts resolving it has to completely finish before he can respond.
Note that the main reason he doesn't know before hand which creature you're going to equip is that the Quest's ability doesn't target the creature.
You see, when a spell/ability targets, you have to announce those targets when the spell/ability goes on the stack. This gives foreknowledge to your opponent; since you've already announced the target, he knows which creature to kill to maximize his interference.
But a spell/ability only targets if it says "target" (well, Aura spells always target when you cast them; the word "target" is wrapped up in the rules meaning of an aura spell).
But since Quest for the Holy Relic doesn't say "target," you don't have to pre-select a target for it, so if your opponent Bolts your 1/1 in response to you activating it, you could just choose a different creature to attach the equipment to when it resolves (and if that was your only creature, you still put the equipment onto the battlefield; it just doesn't get attached to anything).
(this means, by the way, that you can use Quest for the Holy Relic to put an equipment on a creature with shroud)
[QUOTE]how bout i keep the quest for the holy relic out with 5 counters on it and when my opponent is about to lightning bolt my guy i say, "in response ill sac QHR and give it +6/+6 to keep it alive" [/QUOTE]
That works fine. If you activate the Quest's ability in response to the Bolt, the ability will resolve before the Bolt (and since Lightning Bolt says "target" creature, you know right when he casts it which creature it's headed for).
[QUOTE]one more thing: I declare attackers, none blocked and i attach before damage, or if im being attacked and i block then give my guy the equipment[/QUOTE]
That works, too. But note that if you give a creature Argentum Armor after it attacks (for example, after blockers are declared), then the Armor's "when equipped creature attacks" ability won't trigger since the creature already attacked.
0
Posted 27 October 2010 at 22:42
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!