Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
stacking and tapping
Okay, so I just read the rules front to back, and there's one thing that occurs quite often in games with my friends that I still don't understand.
The Scenario:
I tap Palladium Myr, paying its cost to add it's ability to the stack.
In response, my opponent pays the cost to add Tumbling Magnet's ability to the stack, choosing Palladium Myr as it's target.
I understand that Tumbling Magnet's ability resolves before Palladium Myr's, however, since the tapping occurred as paying it's cost, does Palladium Myr's ability still activate?
groundandpound420
0 posts
Posted 28 October 2010 at 04:35
Permalink
2 replies
Login to post a comment
Setherial
349 posts
[QUOTE=groundandpound420]Okay, so I just read the rules front to back, and there's one thing that occurs quite often in games with my friends that I still don't understand.
The Scenario:
I tap Palladium Myr, paying its cost to add it's ability to the stack.
In response, my opponent pays the cost to add Tumbling Magnet's ability to the stack, choosing Palladium Myr as it's target.
I understand that Tumbling Magnet's ability resolves before Palladium Myr's, however, since the tapping occurred as paying it's cost, does Palladium Myr's ability still activate?[/QUOTE]
- You tap Palladium Myr, it's effect goes on the stack
- He taps Tumble Magnet targetting Palladium Myr, goes on the stack
- stack resolves
- Palladium myr is already tapped so the Tumble effect does nothing
- Myr effect resolves, you get your 2 mana
that's it, just like you already seemed to know
0
Posted 28 October 2010 at 07:14
Permalink
groundandpound420
0 posts
Thank you very much, that is how I thought it worked, but I'm rather new to the game and wanted to double-check before calling him out on it.
0
Posted 28 October 2010 at 12:18
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!