Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
Weathered Bodyguards
My friend has a defense deck with Weathered Bodyguards in it, and I was just wondering if creatures with trample still go though to you, or a just stopped by the Bodyguards.
nightcreeper58
53 posts
Posted 29 October 2010 at 08:56
Permalink
5 replies
Login to post a comment
LexustheGreat
3 posts
I would say yes it will still go thourgh. Trample has nothing to do with blockers, or blocking but with attacking and assigning "combat damage". The creature with trample will assign lethal damage and the rest of the damage will still go through...
0
Posted 29 October 2010 at 11:09
Permalink
fywdyl
28 posts
If the guy with trample was not blocked, then it would go to the bodyguards. If it was blocked thou, it would still hit you.
0
Posted 29 October 2010 at 19:06
Permalink
Aneximines
4 posts
[QUOTE=fywdyl]If the guy with trample was not blocked, then it would go to the bodyguards. If it was blocked thou, it would still hit you.[/QUOTE]
Agreed. Weathered Bodyguards only effects the combat damage of creatures that weren't blocked. If a trampler is blocked and ends up dealing combat damage to the defending player, the damage won't be redirected to the Bodyguards.
0
Posted 29 October 2010 at 23:30
Permalink
nightcreeper58
53 posts
[QUOTE=Aneximines]Agreed. Weathered Bodyguards only effects the combat damage of creatures that weren't blocked. If a trampler is blocked and ends up dealing combat damage to the defending player, the damage won't be redirected to the Bodyguards.[/QUOTE]
So what your saying is that if a trample creature isn't blocked, all damage goes to Weathered Bodyguards, regardless of the trample creatures power?
0
Posted 31 October 2010 at 05:43
Permalink
Aneximines
4 posts
[QUOTE=nightcreeper58]So what your saying is that if a trample creature isn't blocked, all damage goes to Weathered Bodyguards, regardless of the trample creatures power?[/QUOTE]
That's right. All damage that would be dealt to the defending player by unblocked creatures is redirected to the Bodyguards.
The only way a trampler could damage the defending player is if it is blocked - and thus exempt from the Bodyguards' ability - and has a high enough power to assign some its damage to the defending player.
That's the only situation in which trample is relevant - when the trampler is attacking and blocked. The Bodyguards' ability does not block any creature, it just redirects damage.
0
Posted 31 October 2010 at 06:45
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!