Discussion Forum

a question about tokens

If you use skullclamp on a token, to kill it, would it act like it went to the graveyard so that you could draw cards?
Posted 30 October 2010 at 19:19

Permalink

[QUOTE=Frisch]If you use skullclamp on a token, to kill it, would it act like it went to the graveyard so that you could draw cards?[/QUOTE]

Yes. It does, in fact, go to the graveyard. Once there, it immediately ceases to exist - this happens so quickly that no one can play anything while it is actually in the graveyard. It will trigger goes-to-the-graveyard effects.

110.5f A token that’s phased out, or that’s in a zone other than the battlefield, ceases to exist. This is a state-based action; see rule 704. (Note that if a token changes zones, applicable triggered abilities will trigger before the token ceases to exist.)
0
Posted 30 October 2010 at 19:49

Permalink

thanks alot :)
0
Posted 30 October 2010 at 20:27

Permalink

I got another question about tokens, if an opponent got the chalice thingy that counters all spells with converted mana cost half the XX you payed, would it counter your tokens?
0
Posted 01 November 2010 at 00:26

Permalink

[QUOTE=Frisch]I got another question about tokens, if an opponent got the chalice thingy that counters all spells with converted mana cost half the XX you payed, would it counter your tokens?[/QUOTE]

No. I can't think of any situation in which you'd actually cast a token. Most tokens are generated either by spells (like Carrion Call), whose interaction with Chalice of the Void depends on the spells' mana costs rather than the tokens', or by abilities (like that of Trigon of Infestation), which don't interact with the Chalice at all.
0
Posted 01 November 2010 at 00:39

Permalink